We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park on the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leesylvania State Park

Leesylvania State Park
2001 Daniel K Ludwig Drive, Woodbridge, VA 22191
703-670-0372
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful park located on the Potomac River that offers historical sites and recreation facilities.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice park on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice park to spend an afternoon, lots to do and has just about everything. A few good trails for hiking or just walk down the easy path next to the river with a few historic markers. Decent pier for fishing, small beach area on the left side of pier (good for dogs to play in), pretty long beach area on the right of the pier (no swimming allowed). Plenty of tables and bbq pits for the cookout with bathrooms conveniently located not too far away. Volleyball court and big playground for the kids. There are a few pavilions for large groups (need reserved way in advance). Plenty of trees for shade, but also plenty of branches on the floor. Park also has a boat launch and camping available. If your looking for a park in the Woodbridge area this is the one to go to.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, Virginia
2 reviews
“Nice state park but pricey parking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I visited this park one afternoon for a picnic with our daughter. It was a bit windy which might have hampered our enjoyment a little. The park itself is nice and clean, good walking paths and a beautiful view of the river. There's a good amount of picnic tables and facilities for children. We were dissapointed that it cost $5.00 to park. I had never visited before so didn't want to risk buying a seson pass. The season pass does work out to be much better value. But I thought a $5.00 fee. Considering it was already the afternoon was a bit steep.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just a "nice drive in the park"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nicely kept up Park. Young gentlemen at entrance way was very helpful and gave lots of info before even entering park.

Loads of trails. Picnicking areas to choose from, a "Visitor shopping area", boat parking /l aunch area (Fee) , and a park store I believe it was located at Boat Launch Area. Visitor Center is before you get that far down.

There is NO swimming at this Park! You can wade and sunbathe and it is a nice park but that is a huge drawback for some.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Walking Paths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This park is absolutely beautiful. They have places for fishing, walking picnic areas and they have a small beach. I ride my bike at the park excellent for running, walking your dog and biking., During the summer the park has concerts as well. Just a nice getaway.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for a party!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice Place to have a party or cookout. You can rent a gazebo and have a nice time. Good place to hit some golf balls.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leesylvania State Park also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Triangle, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Leesylvania State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesylvania State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.