We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge

Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge to your Saves list
Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge
951 Annapolis Way, Woodbridge, VA 22191   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Woodbridge
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It worked...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed several times and each time a different room. Non-smoking is third floor. Smokers like hanging out outside the front, but wasn't frequent so not bothersome except when passing through and they're smoking at that time. Front desk staff were very nice for the four separate people I met - no complaints. Had to get an alarm clock replaced and they gave me two used ones that were as busted as the one I was replacing and then finally got me one that worked so stupid stuff happens, but the person was pleasant thankfully. Didn't smell any smoke in the room. One of the rooms had a funky odor sort of musty maybe... Sometimes the towels were very clean and possibly even new and other times there were long strands of hair on one and even a blood stain (small) on another on a separate day so be sure to check your towels prior to use. VRE train can wake you up prior to 6:00am depending on how you sleep. Don't remember any trash truck wake ups at zero-dark-thirty like at other hotels I've been too so that was nice. Noise in room not bad at all - only heard people talking on the phone when they were loud, but couldn't necessarily distinguish everything they said so having the t.v. or radio on (if the radio works) took care of that problem. Having the fan running all night helps to get sleep too. Pretty basic amenities. Don't expect top notch cleanliness, but wasn't bad for the price so don't act like they should provide you $300 per night service and rooms when you're paying $70 or less a night. Overall a quiet hotel. Didn't get breakfast, but it's the usual carbaholic fare. Extended stay is $45 night. The street light onto US-1 can take anywhere from 10 seconds to three minutes for the left turn with the average appearing to be closer to three minutes, which was annoying. Overall it is a nice hotel albeit definitely worn. I would have no problems staying again and definitely recommend it for the price and value and the nice staff that I ran into.

Room Tip: If non-smoking choose the first floor. No elevator so first floor best. Best to choose the rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
6
6
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for three nights from 27 March 12 whilst attending a wedding in Virginia. The hotel is not too far from the shops and the busy are of Woodbridge. From the outside the hotel looked dilapidated/tired, the reception did not impress either. The room we stayed in was clean and serviced daily. We were offered daily breakfast between 7-9 but nothing more that waffles, bread and butter. The breakfast area was between the stairs and the first floor with no seating area. You had to take your breakfast to your bedroom so that you could free up space in the breakfast area. We had a small fridge and a microwave in the room which was handy. Overall this hotel is basic, clean and ideal for cheap stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Although some local competitors log on to Tripadvisor and write a bad review of this hotel, they are giving false reviews. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the rates are very reasonable.
Anyone who says that it is not the case has a personal issue that does not reflect the actual experience of staying here.
I recommend the Inns of Virginia without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The personnel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well kept and the experience was very good. I would recommend staying there. The rates are the best in the area, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms have no odor of smoke and are on different floors than the smoking ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband works in the DC area but we both reside in TN. Each time he has to come to DC for business we stay here at the Inns of Virginia in Woodbridge. Their extended stay rate is very reasonable, The staff are always friendly, and rooms are always clean. We have stayed here numerous times and have always been very happy with the accomidations. I highly recommend the Inns of VA in Woodbridge to anyone who is traveling in this area.

Cynthia Ward

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed here for 2 weeks back in December 2010 while waiting for a new place I was moving into to finish renovations. You can't beat the value you get at this place. For $350/week you get a nice clean room and bathroom, free wifi & cable, continental breakfast (more about that later), and your room cleaned 2 times a week. It'd also aplus that you're walking distance from the VRE station that will take you into Washington. D.C. The thing you have to keep in mind with this place that I think the other poster's have missed is that this is a motel, so yeah it's a bit run down and has probably seen better days - but you're paying for a nice place to lay your head down at night, not a resort. For the posters looking for a deal, you should call the hotel directly and not use Expedia or any of the other websites. They actually make their money by marking up cheap hotels which this is definitely that. And YES the Water's Edge is awesome. I actually discovered this place while at the hotel and still hang out there today.

Some of the drawbacks though, there seems to be a community of people living here long term that the management should probably address. They tend to congregate outside, and give an overall shady vibe to the establishment. And the continental breakfast, what a joke! Don't offer the breakfast if you're not going to put any quality food out.

My advice: if you need a cheap place to stay for a week, this is definitely the place to stay. If you're traveling from miles away with your family to visit Washington, DC you may want to consider other places if your budget can afford it. If not, take it for what it is - a motel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

By the pictures and other reviews I thought it would be a nice place to stay. However, upon driving up in the parking lot there was a sign that had a "weekly rate" for a MUCH cheaper price than what I paid. The hotel is located in a part of the city that is old and run down with some shady people. After staying there for a few nights I had had enough of the residents drinking outside, loud music and then the smell of marijuana in the hall way was IT. I then was able to show my 11 year old what marijuana smelled like. What a wonderful lesson to teach her on our family vacation with both sets of Grandparents and cousins. After being slapped in he face with the smell I looked online and found another hotel. When we tried to check out early and get a refund we were harrassed and cussed at for doing so. The clerk WAS NOT going to give us a refund right then and wanted us to trust him to do so later without us obtaing a receipt for the refund amount given. We had a 3 hour drive that day and couldn't hang around for 2-4 hours to wait for the manager to show up to give the refund and the clerk would not call him to get authorization because he didn't want to get into trouble for calling him at home. Needless to say we were slightly unhappy with that decision. DO NOT STAY HERE! I feared for my daughters safety the entire stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge

Address: 951 Annapolis Way, Woodbridge, VA 22191
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Virginia - Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Hotel Of Virginia Woodbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns of Virginia - Woodbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.