We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option the Night Before AutoTrain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14080 Shoppers Best Way, Woodbridge, VA 22192   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Woodbridge
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Option the Night Before AutoTrain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staying at the Sleep Inn the night before departing VA on the AutoTrain was a fabulous choice. Not only did we save at least $50, but the rooms were beautiful and spacious. The hotel just had a fresh smell which was very enjoyable. Free breakfast in the AM consisted of cold cereal, yogurt, bagels, sausage, juice, coffee, make your own waffles and much more! If I am ever in need of a hotel in the area, this will be my choice! The Sleep Inn is conveniently located near Wal-Mart and many restaurants and other miscellaneous shops.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and honestly did not hear any hall noise or noise from below. I would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our Sleep Inn. You took advantage of our centrally located hotel, which allowed you easy access to the AutoTrain as well as the Potomac Mills Outlet Mall and a representation of most large retailers. It seems like you noticed what many of our guests do - we offer a superior product in our competitive set. We know what are are and we know what we are not. If you want a clean, well kept, centrally located hotel with a friendly staff, we firmly believe that we offer the best product in this area. We are so blessed that you saw that first hand and shared it in your review of us.

Most of all, we are glad to hear you would stay with us again if and when you find yourself in this area. As we have said before, there is no better review than one which includes you joining us again for a stay. Thanks again...we will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
15
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Sleep Inn Potomac for 3 nights from 14 to 17 Feb. I had a few email communications with the manager before our arrival, she was prompt with her replies and answered all my questions.

We arrived a few hours before the scheduled check-in time and were allowed to checked in early. The receptionist, Andy, was very helpful. He asked us about our flight, showed us to our room, helped us with our parcels which were sent to the hotel earlier, gave us some tips on the area and direct us to Potomac Mill. The room look exactly like those in the pictures. As we are from Asia, we found that the bed and room size are big to our standard, however the bathroom is a little small. Fortunately the sink is located outside the toilet, so it doesn't feel so squeezy. I'm not sure whether other rooms have the same arrangement as ours is with "mobility accessible".

All the receptionists were very friendly and helpful and we felt safe in the establishment. The breakfast spread was ok. There's bread, bagels, cereals, eggs, yogurts, waffles, sausages and juices. You have free flow of coffee and tea throughout the night. Sleep Inn was just one road behind Walmart and it took about 15 min to walk to Potomac Mill. We paid about $80 per night and really think its value for money. Will definitely stay there if going to Potomac again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are so very grateful for your visit and your review. We recall your communication with us before your trip. It is always our pleasure to work with you on anything you need prior to to arrival and during your stay with us. Whenever there is something in our power to control and it's available, like a slight early check-in or accepting packages, we are glad to help out. It sounds like you saw something in our staff that we pride ourselves on building - an honest commitment to do what it takes to assure each and every guest is treated with the respect that we would want ourselves if we were traveling.

We are glad to see that you validated what many online may wonder about our rooms in comparison to the pictures you see online. The recent full-property renovation we completed has positioned us well and allows us to really offer a superior guest experience. Most of all, we are happy to see the best review that you could give us - your referral and statement about visiting us again when in the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close to our children and reasonably priced. The Choice chain is not usually our 'choice' of hotels. However, the Potomac Mills facility was just lovely with brand new appointments, upscale bedding, furnishings, and an actually hot breakfast with peeled boiled eggs and the Wall Street Journal as well USA Today. The staff was exceptional and made us feel like family. This will become our home away from home when visiting Virginia.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great with easy parking. Very clean and attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We thank you for your stay with us (and your subsequent TripAdvisor review) when visiting your children in Virginia. We can really sense the surprise in your tone about our hotel. We want you to know that comments like yours really fuel our passion to provide the level of service we aim to each and every day. You noted what many other customers have also realized - while our hotel is economically priced compared to others in the area, that lower cost has absolutely no bearing on the quality of the rooms and overall guest experience we feel the Sleep in provides each and every day. We were happy to see that you commented positively about our brand new appointments, upscale bedding, furnishings, and our hot breakfast, but the most exciting comment you made is about our staff making you "feel like family." We do not take it lightly that you view us as your second home in Virginia. We are excited to host you again when your travels bring you to the area. We hope that others take note of your feedback and experience our Sleep Inn as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On a recent trip to Woodbridge to visit IKEA, we decided to spend the night. We had checked Tripadvisor and found this gem of a hotel.

Everything written about it on Tripadvisor was acurate. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The rooms reminded me of a small boutique hotel. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and modern; but most of all, immaculately clean. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was super friendly and accommodating.

If you are in the Woodbridge area, this is your hotel. Look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your recent stay and your review. We are grateful that you spent your valuable time on a response after visiting our Sleep Inn. 365 days a year, we put "our all" into assuring each one of our guests has a top notch experience with us as a home-away-from-home and your reference to us as a "gem of a hotel" really touched our leadership team and each one of our team members.

You validated our other TripAdvisor reviewers, our proximity to Ikea and the mall, our clean rooms, our comfortable beds, and our friendly team members. Most of all, you were able to challenge others to visit us, giving them confidence that, no matter if they are travelling for business or pleasure, our Sleep Inn can accommodate them well.

In the highly competitive industry that we are in, we have prided ourselves on providing a quality product for a reasonable price. We really respect travelers like you that are proactive about researching their options when visiting a new area, like Woodbridge. If your travels bring you back to anywhere in the DC Metro area, we hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked to attend a nearby WEDDING on short notice; this is a BUSY part of the world. Sleep Inn had 2 rooms left, both "HANDICAPPED", and we needed one. Water came out of the hadiapped shower, an architectural problem, but we dealt with it. Normal showers would not have had this issue. The place was very clean, and the staff was helpful. Slept well, ONLY bad thing was the location - - in Northern Virginia. Well that IS where the wedding was.

Room Tip: AVOID the "HANDICAPPED" rooms unless you need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for your recent stay and your review. The Northern VA / DC area is one of the busiest, most visited regions in the country and that can lead to some fairly booked weeks and weekends and it looks like you visited us during one of those. As a small business, we want to be able to accomodate guests from all areas and all walks of life. We have a strong commitment to provide a stay at equal caliber for our guests with special needs. We have converted multiple rooms on the first floor to be ADA-compliant. When the hotel is as busy as it was during your visit, from time to time, we give incoming guests the option to stay in one of these rooms.

Ultimately, the most important thing is the quality of your stay. We are glad to hear that you felt the process was clean and our staff was helpful. The team will be glad to hear that and we hope to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while visiting the D.C. area. The staff were very nice and made the check- in and check-out process painless. The room was very clean and spacious. I was surprised how large the bathroom was. I wasn't in the room very often, but when I was I enjoyed it. Every afternoon I returned to the room it was nice and clean for me. The bed was very comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping at all. If you are visiting the Washington D.C. area you should definitely stay here. It's close enough to get to D.C. in a good time, and yet far enough away that you aren't smothered by that traffic. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your stay and your review of our Sleep Inn after your 3 nights with us! We've worked hard to redo the lobby area and overall check-in process to make is as quick, efficient, yet informative as possible and we're glad you noticed. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in the meticulous process of refreshing the rooms so that each guest has a best-in-class experience as you did when you stayed with us and they will be very pleased to hear your feedback. The bathroom and bed was part of our major renovation and we spared no expense with a high level of commitment to product quality - we wanted you to feel liek you were "right at home with us." We hope that other guests take your advice when they choose to visit our nation's capital. Our proximity to DC allows us to be competitive with price but not sacrifice quality while also offering a fair amount of amenities locally like the Potomac Mills Outlet Mall. .

Thanks again for your business and your review. Please come back and see us again when your travels bring you back to the DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I would like to mention that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in the US. I receive excellent service any time I stay in this hotel. My recent stay permitted me to say a BIG THANK YOU to the hotel manager, everyone at front desk and all the service personnel. I am always welcome, treated with respect and cheerfulness. The hotel is very clean especially the rooms are more conducive and refreshing for one to have a pleasant stay. The morning continental breakfast is superb and very neat area to sit and enjoy the food. I am so excited and highly impressed that I will always recommend this hotel to friends and family and I will stay in it anytime I am around. To the management, please keep up the excellent work and the outstanding performance. Excellent Job!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very clean and conducive for a stay no matter the size and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
First and foremost - Thank YOU. Thank you for visiting us multiple times and thank you for spending your valuable time writing an honest review about your stay with us. While your comment about our Sleep Inn being the "best hotel you have ever stayed in the US" gives us a great sense of satisfaction, it also fosters a sense of responsibility to show others the same level of service, quality, and cleanliness if and when they visit our property. We shared this review with all of our team members and it served as a helpful reminder of how far a genuine kind-hearted approach to our guests can go. We know we aren't a "luxury chain hotel," but amongst our competition, we truly believe that we offer superior value and a "luxurious stay" by including those add-ons like breakfast, internet, and fitness facilities FREE with every guest stay.

We understand that you especially enjoyed our newly renovated and refreshed rooms and FREE breaksfast with newly added items like sausage and eggs. We are glad you appreciate these improvements we have made and again cannot thank you enough for the ultimate compliment you have offered us - a recommendation to your friends and family.

At the end of the day, the importance of "guest experience" is second to none for our entire management and service team. We look forward to hosting you again in the very near future. We trust that your honest opinion will also give other potential guests real insight into how we run things and will encourage them to come and spend thier next stay in this area with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills

Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Sleep Inn
Address: 14080 Shoppers Best Way, Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Woodbridge
#7 Family Hotel in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is ideally located within one mile from the Potomac Mills shopping mall and Strayer University. This Woodbridge hotel offers easy access to popular attractions like the Quantico National Cemetery, Gunston Hall Plantation and George Mason University. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is 22 miles away. The Woodbridge area offers activities to suit all visitors. History buffs will appreciate George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens. Limited tours are available at nearby Marine Corps Base Quantico. For nature lovers, Prince William Forest Park offers hiking trails, bicycle trails and wildlife viewing opportunities. Shoppers will enjoy a unique shopping experience in the quaint village of Occoquan. Visitors will have an easy time deciding on what to eat for lunch, dinner or a snack in between with over 30 major restaurants within two miles of the hotel. Guests of this Woodbridge hotel will enjoy many amenities and features, including a free continental breakfast, free coffee and a free weekday newspaper in the morning. The hotel also offers free local calls. Work off the day's stress in the fitness center. Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to fax and copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Select rooms feature additional amenities, like whirlpool bathtubs. Laundry facilities are located on the property for guest convenience. Whether traveling to the Woodbridge area for business or pleasure, enjoy friendly service at the Sleep Inn hotel. Our staff looks forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.