We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14080 Shoppers Best Way, Woodbridge, VA 22192   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Woodbridge
bradford, ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were amazed at how clean and new this hotel was. You just didn't feel like your feet would be dirty walking on the carpet in this hotel. We were checked in by "bedwar" who was very nice. All the desk clerks were neatly dressed and very friendly. If you are ever in this area - check it out. The rooms were large and they had a shower instead of a tub... which we loved.

Room Tip: We are members of
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thanks very much for your positive feedback. We have tried very hard to maintain a clean environment for guests, both in common areas, and in guest rooms. We will be sure to praise our guest services staff about your positive experience with them, as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
15
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DOTHAN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed here 3 nts while visiting Washington DC. Clean and very nice. Seemed newly remodeled fresh paint, carpet, etc. Bed could have been softer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a stay at our Sleep Inn. We are glad to hear you stayed at more then one newly-renovated Sleep Inn, as it was a key goal of the brand to upgrade the look and feel of all of the properties in the chain. The bed was selected to accommodate a broad array of guests and we were sorry to hear it was firmer that you would have liked. We recently replaced all of the beds and bedding in the property as part of the renovation, and hope to have you back again to try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at this motel with my significant other for an impromptu stay in June 2011. I had looked through my smartphone for a very economically priced motel and this one came up as one of the lower priced in the Woodbridge area. Being that it was lower priced (and a motel), I wasn't expecting much when we checked in, but I was VERY pleasantly surprized! This is by far one of the nicest motels I've been to, and I've done a lot of travelling, so that is saying something for this place. The lobby area was very warm and welcoming as well as the staff. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. Included in the rooms were flat screen TV's, and a mini-fridge! The shower had great water pressure. Everything in the room looked brand new! I've been to many hotel that are not even as nice as this was. They also include a free continental breakfast and free wi-fi is also available. If I ever had to stay in this area again, I would definitely be back for a repeat visit.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there really is a bad room in the entire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We appreciate your positive feedback. It sounds like you appreciated the hard work we put into our renovation and the value we provide for the price. We hope to welcome you again when you visit the DC area in the coming months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean. The wifi is spotty in some rooms which was disappointing because I had to work. The breakfast is good. However the room had a bit of a musty smell that seemed to come from the bathroom.

Room Tip: Check the WiFi signal in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We appreciate the feedback, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff's friendliness as well as the cleanliness of the property. While we do offer free internet, we appear to be experiencing some WIFI issues due to a current vendor we are using. We are under the process of replacing the hotspots in the entire facility and that project will be completed this summer. As for the musty smell, would you be able to provide a room number where you experienced the problem? We recently renovated the entire property and made it non-smoking. Our hope is to address any one-off lingering issues that may remain. We hope to have you and other business travelers stay with us again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010 via mobile

My husband And I recently toured Washington D.C. And stayed at this MO-tel for 2 nights. We paid 100 dollars per night which was a good deal considering how convenient we were to D.C. However, we found out why it was such a deal upon entering our room. We had a second floor room- at it was tiny. The queen bed. Felt more like a double and do to being so crowded feeling- my husband and I could not get a good nights rest. Even the pillows on the bed were half the width of normal pillows which was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was also very small with only a standup shower and no tub. The entire second floor reeked of cigarette smoke and even though we had a non smoking room - the smell wafted in. We tried to stuff towels under the door but this made no difference. The fridge, microwave, and television were severely outdated and need replacing. The toilet didn't work and we had to have the maintenance man come work on it.
He splashed water out of the commode and onto the floor and used my bath towel to wipe it up and didn't even ask housekeeping to give us a disinfecting mop job. In the morning we went downstairs to eat breakfast and the dining area was so crowded there was no place to sit. Breakfast seating is Severely Limited! We saw they had a wafflemaker which we love so we attempted to make a waffle. We waited in line 10 minutes and then my husband nearly got into an altercation with a big man who tried to cut him in the waffle line. Overall this place is a dump!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. We read your feedback and were very disappointed. Due to your comments and some others, we decided to undertake a massive renovation and wanted to offer you and your husband a free room night to visit our property again to see the result of the changes and upgrades that we made. To highlight some details, we have responded to all of your feedback below:

DC Convenience / Rates: Thanks for your positive comments about our location and value.

Room size / Queen Bed: We took your feedback. As part of a massive multi-month full hotel renovation, we added multiple King rooms to our available room set by replacing and space has also opened up in these rooms because they were previously rooms with 2 beds.

Good nights rest: We replaced every single bed in the hotel when we went through the renovation. Early feedback is very positive, but we would welcome you to come see for yourself.

Pillows: We have replaced / upgraded every pillow in the facility during the renovation and welcome you to see this first hand.

Bathroom: It sounds like you were in one of our Queen rooms with stand-up shower. We do offer larger bathrooms with tubs and also have a jacuzzi room available for reservation.

Second floor / cigarette smoke smell even though had a non-smoking room: As owners, this is a problem that we have been dealing with for years. We built this hotel with both smoking and non-smoking rooms and while that worked well for many years we learned that, over time, this became a challenge to manage. After the renovation, we made a decision to transform the entire property into a non-smoking one. We still welcome smoking guests and provide designated areas on the property outside of the building to accommodate them. The change to non-smoking has been a refreshing one and has allowed us to really tell you with confidence that this will not be a problem again.

Fridge, microwave, and television were severely outdated: As a part of the renovation, all 3 were replaced. On a side note, we now have 32" LG LCD TVs wall-mounted in every guest room.

Maintenance issues: I'm sorry that you had this problem. I assure you that this is not the way we want to do business and it has been addressed with our maintenance team.

Breakfast and the dining area was so crowded: We took your feedback, removed the serving table from the middle of the area and added 2 additional guest breakfast tables for use as a part of the renovation.

Waffle Machine Issues: It appears that there was an altercation at the waffle machine. While guest vs. guest arguments are rare, we have heard your feedback and we are going to work with hotel staff to attend to this area during the breakfast time so we can avoid such issues.

I know you had a poor experience with us, but now that we have access to this forum, we wanted to respond to you directly and also have you contact us directly at the property. As was stated earlier, we wanted to offer you a free night stay at our newly-renovated property to let you see first hand the kinds of changes we have made. The feedback you gave was honest and tough to take, but we took it and made some serious changes at the property to address the issues and feel that we are now offering an excellent value for the price, now more than ever. We personally believe people and business are defined by their ability to adapt and handle adversity, and we hope to have the chance to show that to you first hand sometime in the 2011 travel season. Updated Virtual Tour and video is coming soon, but post-renovation pictures are on our site.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Wolf, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have stayed at this Sleep Inn numerous times over the past 2 years, but July 2010 was my last stay. Upon moving in to my room, I discovered a large infestation of ants in the corner of my room. When they offered to move me to a new room, THAT room had an ant infestation all over the desk. No other rooms available and the guy from the front desk finally provided a can of insect spray that I got to smell all night. Awakened at 3:00 by the paving company laborers that had booked a dozen or so rooms having a drunken party that spilled into the hall.

The facility is becoming very worn and is in desperate need of being remodeled. Cleanliness is beginning to suffer also. No idea what all the brown spots and streaks were on the ceiling and walls in the bathroom, not sure I want to know.

It is really a shame because when I started staying at this location it was a good value and a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. We just undertook a massive renovation, refreshing our entire property and every single aspect of it. Part of that renovation was a serious re-visit of our pest control vendor. I am sorry we were not able to respond to you sooner, but would love to have you stay with us again to see our upgrades and see first hand the kinds of changes we have made.

As for the noise in the hall, I am disappointed to hear that one group of guests had that impact on your stay. We want those issues to be handled in-the-moment by out hotel staff and would be happy to exchange personal information like cell phone when you do stay with again if you do encounter any trouble. In any event, a strategy to handle unruly guests has been revisited with front desk staff as a result of your feedback.

As for your feedback about wear / tear, and the need for a renovation, we heard your feedback loud and clear, and went through a massive multi-month renovation that was just completed.

I am glad you felt like we were a good value in the past, and we hope to re-earn that distinction from you. Feel free to contact us directly at sleepinnpotomacmills@gmail.com to discuss further. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Yeah it smells a little like a previous traveler stated but it's cheap, clean and comfortable. The check out time is 11 am which I thought was a little early considering we came from California and has a jet lag issue.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. We appreciate your feedback as to the value of the stay.

We heard the feedback about the moldy / smoky smell that was driven by old wallpaper and our smoking rooms. As a result we have renovated the property, removing all wall-paper, redoing them with paint. We also eliminated the smoking rooms, making the property non-smoking exclusively. However, we do still accommodate smoking guests through designated outside smoking areas on the property. This was a massive undertaking, but early feedback about the changes have been very promising.

We are sorry that jet-lag made our check-out time tough for you. We have the time set so that we can prepare the property efficiently with new travelers that afternoon. In the future, we would be happy to accommodate a late check-out if available.

If your travels bring you back to the DC area, we hope to see you again here at the Sleep Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills

Address: 14080 Shoppers Best Way, Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Woodbridge
#7 Family Hotel in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is ideally located within one mile from the Potomac Mills shopping mall and Strayer University. This Woodbridge hotel offers easy access to popular attractions like the Quantico National Cemetery, Gunston Hall Plantation and George Mason University. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is 22 miles away. The Woodbridge area offers activities to suit all visitors. History buffs will appreciate George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens. Limited tours are available at nearby Marine Corps Base Quantico. For nature lovers, Prince William Forest Park offers hiking trails, bicycle trails and wildlife viewing opportunities. Shoppers will enjoy a unique shopping experience in the quaint village of Occoquan. Visitors will have an easy time deciding on what to eat for lunch, dinner or a snack in between with over 30 major restaurants within two miles of the hotel. Guests of this Woodbridge hotel will enjoy many amenities and features, including a free continental breakfast, free coffee and a free weekday newspaper in the morning. The hotel also offers free local calls. Work off the day's stress in the fitness center. Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to fax and copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Select rooms feature additional amenities, like whirlpool bathtubs. Laundry facilities are located on the property for guest convenience. Whether traveling to the Woodbridge area for business or pleasure, enjoy friendly service at the Sleep Inn hotel. Our staff looks forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.