We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS RESTAURANT IN ALL RESPECTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro L'Hermitage

Bistro L'Hermitage
12724 Occoquan Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192-2721
703-499-9550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro L'Hermitage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 237 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Bridge Road
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS RESTAURANT IN ALL RESPECTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

So glad we found this gem tucked away in Woodbridge. We ate there on Saturday 12 July 2014. The welcome at the door set a trend for the evening, We were shown to our table offered water and or drinks, followed by menus and a wine list. Without prompting wonderful bread arrived and our server Bryan provided us with details of the specials and left us to choose our food and wine. My wife chose green salad to start followed by Skate (the special) and I chose the Seafood soup and Skate (both specials). We chose a wine to compliment our meal. Bryan returned to tell us this was no longer available but suggested an alternative which we accepted. However before bring a bottle he offered a sample to ensure we were happy. A great thing to do which we appreciated. The alternative wine was perfect. The food was first class and our server really looked after us. We plan to make this a regular place to eat. Thanks Bryan and the staff you gave my wife and I a meal and evening to remember.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    31
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Deposit, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“4th of July Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Son & daughter in law and our grandchild surprised us with dinner out on the 4th of July to a wonderful French Bistro. A bit pricey and really not for kids, however the atmosphere, service, and most importantly the food was outstanding. We had the crispy oyster and avocado mousse to start that was very tasty. I truly enjoyed one of the daily specials - corvina and scallops with mash potatoes and asparagus, my wife enjoyed their regular seared scallops. I also had a side of sautéed mushrooms and garlic that was exquisite. Nice wine selection with great service - definitely a place for romance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTINSBURG
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The decor is query but the rest of the experience was excellent. There is great food and wine pairing. They have a most competent chef and wait staff. You can have a 5-7 course experience with wine pairings. On weekends everything is a'la carte. The staff and owner are pery personable as well as well dressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with a side of 'little pricey'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My Family of 3 received a gift certificate for this restaurant for a Wedding gift in April. We'd never been here and love new dining experiences, so what a treat for us. Off we go. It is off of the beaten path, and appears to be in a neighborhood. We go to Occoquan frequently, so we were fooled by it's location, but nonetheless, it looks quite quaint on the exterior just like a little French restaurant.

We were greeted and seated right away as we had reservations. The interior is a little small, quaint, and a bit romantic. The tables are close enough to see everyone around you and hear them too. Unfortunately, there was a table in the corner to which my 13 year old daughter was facing that had a couple that were making out profusely right there. We know the restaurant couldn't very well control this; but it was an experience for her, if you get my drift for a young teenager. This continued until we left.

The waitress was polite and courteous, although she never even congratulated us on our weeding even though I showed her our gift certificate that was purchased site unseen by a family member on the West coast. No problem, but I would think that they would give a little fanfare to first timers...no? As I said, she was polite & courteous.

The food is priced to the top of any menu you could possibly look at. We tried escargot for an appetizer, while my wife had the filet mignon, my daughter the lamb, and the tuna filet for myself. The escargot didn't taste as I've tasted in Paris, but it was horrible. It tasted slightly chalky and from a can...I could be wrong, but that's my experience with it. My tuna was a nice size portion and very good cooked rare. The filet was meh for it's price and the lamb was meh as well.

The wine is OVER priced to the core. We spent $65 for an average bottle of Malbec that we never heard of. And since we were enjoying the moment & lover wine; we went back for more on another bottle. $130 later...just average. No need to kill your customers on alcohol pricing; it's already your biggest profit. In their defense, they did have bottles for less, but not much less and we never heard of any of them really. Our waitress DID let us taste first as well, so this was really a budget decision on us.

$330 later, we finished our meal with 2 deserts and one on the house to congratulate us with a candle on top. The sorbet was great as well as the creme brulee' that we were given. I didn't try my daughter's desert.

Before we left, one last treat....the restrooms. Straight out of the 70's???? Red toilet, sink, and hand cloths to wipe your hands. My wife said the female room was about the same. They looked as if they hadn't been changed in years, although not really dirty...just old. :)

They get our four stars, but not without the truth, so there it is. We would go back (just my wife and I) to the bar for a cocktail or two maybe or dinner; just not not over doing ourselves now knowing their menu. Everyone that we met seemed nice though and we saw the owner interacting with some tables...just not ours.

Enjoy...Bon Apetit'

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for romance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I love the atmosphere of Bistro L'Hermitage, not to mention the great food! All the staff are friendly and the Chef is incredible! We actually met her shopping for food one day when my wife saw how much butter she was buying and couldn't resist asking why. She told us about the retaurant and invited us to try it. Needless to say the food was incredible! In fact the second time we went we ordered food to take home after we ate dinner. We have been many times now and have never been disappointed! A great place to take someone you Love!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro L'Hermitage also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Bistro L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro L'Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.