We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden French bistro oasis in Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro L'Hermitage

Bistro L'Hermitage
12724 Occoquan Rd, Woodbridge, VA 22192-2721
703-499-9550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro L'Hermitage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 234 restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Bridge Road
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden French bistro oasis in Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Absolutely love the place. The owner is a delight and the waitstaff are top notch. Service is impeccable. The food is always perfection. Grilled squid salad is an everytime order. Every detail is addressed! Love love love the bartenders. Dining here is a perfect evening!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    105
    31
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the best kept secret in all of DC and Northern Virginia. Bristro is tucked away near the Occoquan River with ample parking. The interior, completely designed and installed by Yousef, the owner, is a welcoming French country style. The food, presentation and service are impeccable. A lovely, quiet location for a celebration. Reservations are on OpenTable.com, too!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Good But..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Bistro is an excellent restaurant with excellent service. The food is very good, great ambiance, and a nice place for a special occasion. The menu is reliably good. The deserts are ok. They have made needed changes in that area. The menu, while good, needs to be changed as it has been the same for as long as I can remember. My MAJOR complaint is the owners allow customers to come dressed like trash. 90% dress appropriately as this is a fine restaurant. While a tie is not necessary I feel that shorts are unacceptable, but permitted (owner does not want to offend anybody). This is not an inexpensive restaurant. People need to learn that there is a decorum when dining at a fine restaurant. When I take my wife or friends to a fine restaurant I expect a pleasant atmosphere, not trash wear shorts and/or t-shirts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hidden gem! Best in Woodbridge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is easily one of the best restaurants I have been to, hands down. And I never thought I would say that of a Woodbridge restaurant. It truly is a hidden gem, because it's on a mostly residential road, slighty off the beaten path, but very close to major intersections and the highway. The service was excellent, very friendly and attentive, treating us like special guests. And the food, oh wow it was amazing. I think I had a caesar salad, filet mignon with mashed potatoes, and some chocolate dessert (sorry I can't remember, it was at least a year ago). Every one was incredible. Seriously had zero complaints. The building doesn't look hugely impressive on the outside, but the inside is very nice and classy. Even the women's bathroom is just the coolest. ;) It's an excellent date place or "grown up" dinner spot - I'm not sure I would take my toddler and preschooler there, although I'm sure the owners wouldn't blink an eye, I prefer it as a kid-free, relaxing experience. ;)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beginning with the hostess seating us where we wanted (bright, witty, sense of humor - why aren't their more of these?) to the apple tart ala mode, this restaurant deserves all the high praise you see scrolling down. I had dined here before and was impressed enough to make the 90+ minute journey from western Loudoun for a business meeting. This meal was worthy of a written review. The new menu is large and a bit intimidating for the diners who prefer simplicity (ala Cracker Barrel). I started with the moules - thinking mussels in shell, but wow - our fantastic Romanian waitress (will get her name next time) serves me this splendid small starter consisting of mussel meat, tomato-pimento, baked with a lighter-than gruyere cheese on top. Really spectacular dish that rocked with a robust burgundy. The entree was equally wonderful and inspired - a good chunk of monkfish baked to perfection (not overcooked mush like one finds way too often - take note Bonefish) along with a dollop of kale, wide noodles and several slivers of andouille sausage. I get hungry just writing this. My business associate started with the shrimp and sprang for the steak and lobster, there were no complaints from his side of the table. The apple tart was very good but the coup de grace was the eau de vie that solidly punctuated a close-to-perfect dining experience. A dinner like this renews my faith in American dining and proves Robert Duvall's claim that you dont have to go to Europe to get a good meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro L'Hermitage also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Bistro L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro L'Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.