We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Day Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crabtree Falls

Crabtree Falls
Rte. 56, 6 mi east of Blue Ridge Pkwy., or 19 mi from Wintergreen by following Rte. 151 south and then Rte. 56 west at Roseland, Wintergreen, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Day Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I loved the hike, but we had a bunch of icy obstacles, to be expected this time of year. It took about 2 hours for us to hike the 1.7 miles to the top. But once you get up there, all the work is worth it. Absolutely beautiful!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The climb is very worthwhile but even if you take the dog and a book and sit by the falls at the bottom, it's a superb way to spend a few hours. Only downside was an unpleasant surprise: a parking fee in the middle of nowhere, no credit cards accepted. I certainly wasn't going to drive back to a town to find an ATM! This should be dropped.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The falls are beautiful. It is just a short walk to the base of the falls if you just want to see the falls. There is a nice hike to the top of about 1.5 miles. It was very icy when we were there, so we will have to return to make it to the top.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Picnic Hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a little crowded, but Crabtree Falls is a wonderful place for a day hike. My boyfriend took me on a picnic hike while we were visiting Fairview B&B for the weekend, and we had a wonderful time. There are plenty of places to stop and enjoy the view of the waterfalls and the mountains. We were there during the peak of fall foliage, and the scenery was breathtaking. Men...if you're looking for a great proposal spot, I'd recommend Crabtree Falls!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love to Hike Uphill?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law took me and we hiked all the way to the top of the falls. It was beautiful and a fun experience. Next time I will go in the spring or fall to avoid heat stroke, but everyone should visit this local treasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabtree Falls also viewed

 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Crabtree Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabtree Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.