We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Weekend Getaway"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wintergreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wintergreen Resort
Save
You added Wintergreen Resort to your Saves list
Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Weekend Getaway"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just returned from a weekend getaway from Northern Virginia to Wintergreen – about a 3 hour pleasant, scenic drive. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves tremendously and the resort is a great value as is the spa and restaurants are reasonably priced too. While Wintergreen is not of 5 star quality in terms of luxury, it a 3-star plus. Everything about the resort is very well maintained and managed. I appreciated the casual, come-as-you-are atmosphere, the serene quiet, the star-filled crystal clear night sky and that incredible mountain air! I plan to go back and if you’re looking for an affordable, last minute mountain getaway, Wintergreen just might be it.

We went right into a “spa day” with a series of appointments at Wintergarden, the onsite spa. While the spa and quality of services are not world-class, they are a good value and certainly a very peaceful and tranquil setting that resulted in both of us feeling very relaxed – the goal! My massage was just so-so and my partner’s mani/pedi left a few things to be desired, but all services were adequate. We hung out at the pool after the spa and it was refreshing to take a dip and further unwind in the hot tubs. Both the spa and pools are open until 9PM on Saturdays in the summer – good call. We enjoyed taking our time at both and showered and changed there and went right to dinner.

We made a reservation at Devil’s Grill and it was superb. The menu features locally grown, organic produce and fresh caught fish, etc. and our meal was truly excellent. Because our first round of appetizers was so good, we indulged in a second round of salads (fresh arugula with beets, heirloom tomatoes with onions and ricotta) that were farm fresh! We would have gone for dessert but three courses and some great wine did us in. All in all, this is one of the best “resort” meal I’ve ever had and a great value at just under $150 for 2 including beer/wine, tips and the three courses I mentioned. Yum!

We stayed in a basic lodge room in Tower Oaks on the first floor. The room was spacious with dining and living areas as well as a small well-equipped kitchen, good-sized bathroom and separate bedroom. There was also a small balcony with a table and chairs. The room was very clean and would be quite comfortable to accommodate a longer stay. My only complaint about the room was the bed: too small (I think it was a full or queen) and way too soft – not comfortable. Also, the bed was situated right in front of the window so hard to let natural light in. The room was a bargain at $143 AAA rate, but I’d probably spring for upgraded accommodations and hopefully a firmer bed next time.

The next day we had a delicious and casual breakfast at Black Bear Café ($30 for two) and chilled out at the pool before heading back to Charlottesville and Monticello. I’m looking forward to visiting Wintergreen again and spending more time there. There’s a lot to see and do in the resort and the surrounding areas, so check it out!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    77
    38
    25
    11
See reviews for
82
82
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester County PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was a fantastic value for the money. Our condo was well equipped and very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this resort. It was a relaxing, peaceful trip and I was very pleased with everything about Wintergreen. The food at both the Copper Mill and The Edge was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I'm going to be fair to Wintergreen with this review as I understand it is not responsible for weather conditions. What I hope to accomplish with this review is describe why this resort was not a good choice for us.

We are a couple of middle-aged empty nesters who enjoy playing golf. We don't party, we don't stay out late, we like quiet getaways, and we enjoy luxury accommodations and occasional shopping sprees.

As luck would have it, the drought of 2010 broke the weekend we were booked into Wintergreen. The clouds and fog on the mountain were so thick that visibility was limited to about 100 ft. Needless to say, the Devil's Knob course was unplayable all weekend. Such a shame. Stoney Creek was playable, but it rained incessantly. I can play in the rain, but my wife refuses to.

So, what is left to do? For us, not much. We cut our stay short and came home after staying only one night.

The accommodations are adequate, but not what we hoped for either. We rented a studio that was not impressive. We were on the bottom floor and could hear every footstep and some conversation from above. The view was non existent, weather notwithstanding. The room was tiny and frankly, we felt trapped in there. Unlike other resorts we have been to, it is not practical to walk from your room to other activities/attractions. An auto or the shuttle is a must.

Sad to say we won't be back. I'm sure it's a nice ski venue, but for golf and most other activities, you're beholding too much to the weather. And I'll add, since they require 14 days notice for a full refund of your deposit, you cannot react to an unfavorable weather forecast without penalty,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We booked three nights on the golf package. The two courses were excellent epically the Devil's Knob course. Our condo was very nice and the three restaurants were all very good and reasonably priced. We went wine tasting and berry picking in the area. We were thinking of the Greenbrier but didn't want to pay for all the extras we did not use. Planning on going back next year and renting a home for the kids and grand kids.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed with my family of 5 including 3 boys aged 8 to 13.
The condo was terrific clean, well appointed & stocked.
The view from the condo was STUNNING!
The resort itself is beautifully located & clean, well landscaped & truly a lovely location.
The weather was fabulous. While the rest of the area was sweltering in 90+ degree temps, the temps on the mountain wer @ 80!
Food was great. Good service, excellent quality ingredients and preparation.
Plenty to do with the family - lake, kayaking, swimming. The pools (indoor & outdoor) are clean, quiet and well situated with a fabulous view. My boys loved the zip line, tubing, bungee trampoline, wall climbing, etc.
Beautiful hiking trails too
An overall excellent experience. You certainly get your money's worth at Wintergreen.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic weekend (Fri - Sun). We stayed in a one bedroom condo and really appreciated that it had two bathrooms. The condo was a very good size and the kitchen is stocked with everything you could need. The bed was not the most comfortable but that's not unusual in my experience. There was plenty of hot water and the water pressure was great. The only real drawback is that the air conditioner is located in the living room so, unless you kept the air on full blast and leave the bedroom door open, the bedroom can get very warm, which was the case with us as the weather turned very warm while we were there.

We booked a spa package (the signature package) one afternoon and it was great. The value of the package is fantastic and the techs were all fantastic. We retuned to the aquatics center the next morning and spent time in the indoor pool (the outdoor wasn't open yet), the jacuzzi, the steam room and sauna. We just went back and forth between all four and it was great.

We had breakfast at the Copper Canyon and Dinner at The Edge and both were very good.

Neither of us ski so we likely won't return during ski season but it was a great value during this "off season" and may return later this summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

The Mountain Lodge at Wintergreen Resort is Great. Book early for a great view, ski right onto the slopes from your back deck. Watch your kids ski by from your balcony while you take a little break. Walk to 3 top noch restaurants and a night time lounge right on the premisses. PARK your car and stay the day. No driving neccessary. Check out the web site for all year round activities... Golf is a biggy too we wil be checking that out this summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort

Address: Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wintergreen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Hotel Wintergreen
Wintergreen Ski Resort Virginia
Wintergreen Resort Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.