We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Harmonious Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wintergreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wintergreen Resort
Save
You added Wintergreen Resort to your Saves list
Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“A Harmonious Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I chose Wintergreen Resort as the first "real" family vacation getaway for ourselves and our teenage son and preteen daughter. Despite the disparity in age between all of us, we all managed to bond and have a great time summer tubing, zip lining, hiking, sight-seeing, bungee trampolining, poolside, beach bumming at the lake, and paddle boating. We even enjoyed the resort's family activities such as candy bingo and flag football. Our son found kids to hang out with at the 2000 square foot gaming center and our daughter really loved the climbing tower. My husband and I found romance in the majestic scenery of the beautiful blue ridge mountain tops. Our condo was spacious, updated, and functional. We couldn't ask for a better experience, really.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear MemiPlus4,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that it we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    82
    40
    26
    12
See reviews for
90
85
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I had our reception at Wintergreen Resort in October of 2011. The place was absolutely majestic! The scenery was beautiful and the mountain was perfect. The reception hall (normally where you get your skis from) was setup to perfection and my wife could not be happier. We had the perfect marriage and the perfect reception. Catherine Pearce, the Wintergreen Conference Services Manager, was the most professional and organized person I have ever dealt with. She organized everything from the food tastings and private dinner to the final touches the day-of. We could not have had a better reception and our guests were absolutely wow'ed by the facilities and setup. My wife does not like me discussing the final costs, but I can say that everything at Wintergreen was VERY reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Andrew F

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and your wedding was what you expected. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Blue Ridge Ski Council had a great meeting hosted by Wintergreen in their conference center. This resort has great charm and was a great retreat along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The staff Ted and Steve gave us a recap of the improvements to the snow making capacity and offered that there is a ski club weekend on Jan. 5-6, 2013. My friend and our wives had a slope side unit that we rented on Eagle Court for the weekend. I am sure we will make plans to return in January for the ski club weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear ColumbiaSkiClub,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in January to the resort, Happy Skiing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent a summer week at the tennis academy primarily to escape the heat, humidity and bugs. Boy, did the whole experience exceed our expectations! The level of tennis instruction and friendliness of the staff were beyond our expectations, the full-service spa and pool were an unexpected bonus, as were the incredible views. The hiking trails are unbelievable and the Devils Knob course and outside patio dining were oustanding. The condo we stayed at was very spacious, clean, the bed comfortable and had gorgeous sunset views. For a tennis getaway - it was lovely to have a full size washer/dryer and kitchen. I'd like to stay up in the mountains all summer!!!

Room Tip: some condos are a few short steps from Devils knob dining, spa, knob golf and tennis,but some are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TennisAnytime,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Ny Area
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were aghast by the smell of our first condo- I finally found that it was an uncleared refrigerator...got another room without argument- it was ok smell wise, but the tiniest of a refrig and sink. The living area furniture was ripped and ? Smelly(the couch). The draperies were ripped in shreds in the lining - of course not sen when drawn, but in opening, I was worried that they would rip more! Unreal for nearly $200 for the night.
Quiet-no one around. We walked, saw views, tennis closed, we did not get to try the fitness center.
Idid not try the overpriced restaurant, but the gift shop had nice struck coffee.

Do not stay here unless you can be assured of seeing your lodging, first, with choices to change to, if needed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear kjchj,


Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I would like to apologzize for not meeting your expectations here at Wintergreen Resort in your accomodations. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are welcome our guest feedback to see h ow we need to improve on our product. I would be happy to discuss your visit so that we can make sure we are providing the best product and services that meet or exceed our guest expecations. I can be reached at 434-325-8212. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A summer time must to get a way from the high temps. Devils' Knob is a wonderful golf experience unlike any other. And the views from our condo were extremely sun rise friendly. We will do this again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JamMassaJ,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Wintergreen over a weekend as part of a two night summer special. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the mountain on Blue Ridge Drive. The accomdations were very clean and comfortable and views from the deck breathtaking. Having a full size kitchen was a plus and we took full advantage of the fireplace both nights. We also got good use out of our passports and took advantage of the wine tasting, pilates class, mini golf and the private lake. The indoor and outdoor pools were great also. Our only complaint was that the resort has no sidewalks and you have to be very careful walking around the resort. Most people drive everywhere. We would definately come back in the summer as the mountain air was 10 degree cooler than the valley.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a condo with a view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort

Address: Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wintergreen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Hotel Wintergreen
Wintergreen Ski Resort Virginia
Wintergreen Resort Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.