We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to escape the heat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cork Street Tavern

Cork Street Tavern
8 W Cork St, Winchester, VA 22601-4706
540-667-3777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 232 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good place to escape the heat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The day we were in Winchester, it was very hot, After looking around at some of the historic downtown sites we stumbled upon the Cork Street Tavern. This seems like a little sports bar. The wait staff was very friendly and efficient. The food was good but not spectacular and all of our meals (excluding drinks) were under $10. There is a pedestrian mall that is entered at the end of the block and a metered parking lot across the street.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    24
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I absolutely love cork street tavern!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The food here is amazing and the people are friendly… I just love it! Now I know it doesn't sound like I have honestly reviewed it but I live right near the place and have been going there for 7 years. It is one of my all-time favorite restraunts!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ordinary and slightly annoying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Will not be returning here as the food arrived over cooked, greasy, and lacking flavor. This would be a good place if you like affordable greasy food and want to avoid a fast food chain and patronize a local business.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morfelden-Walldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't go!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I oreder a hamburger and fries. The hamburger was supposed to be medium, but it was more than well done and the fries were covered in some kind of hair. At least they didn't make me pa for it. I ended up eating at McDonald's and it was better than Cork Street Tavern!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton roads
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaping helpings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stopped in for a late lunch/appetizer and got so much food we didn't need dinner. The food was good and fresh and moderately priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Street Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cork Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.