We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for just Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Square Restaurant

Village Square Restaurant
103 North Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA 22601-4717
540 667 8961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 259 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expensive for just Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, drinks were good and it's lovely sitting outside on a pleasant day in old town winchester. The service was not great from a fairly bitter older lady and the cost was far more than the value. Not bad by any stretch but just not as Great as expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
240 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Love ther Martini's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I haven't eaten here; I mostly visit for happies and their bar menu. Their martini list is extensive and yummy and their bar menu is good too. Staff are wonderful and there is a great feeling/vibe in this restaurant. Love the walking mall location!

Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dined at Village Square Restaurant for the first time last weekend. We have been coming to Winchester from Delaware since our daughter began college at Shenandoah University in 2004. What a wonderful experience we had at Village Square. The filet I had surpassed any steak I have ever had at Ruth's Chris. My wife's salmon was an unusual and delicious combination of favors. The wait staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone dining in Winchester. We will be back!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Welcome Oasis... Cheery, Warm, Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I quite enjoyed this restaurant. We had walked out of another place recommended by our hotel and this looked cheery and welcoming and classy. All of which it was. We ended up eating at the bar on a Saturday night. Good drinks and wines by the glass. My steak (with frites) was a little tough but flavorful, and my wife's was excellent. North Loudoun St is in the process of being made into a pedestrian mall, is all torn up, but don't let that deter you. Find your way and you'll be surprised at all the good restaurants and stores on this historic street in a small Virginia City. We were just passing through but very tempted to stay longer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prairieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Village Square”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food ok. Service ok. Price too high for food eaten. Will not go back. Found better places to eat. No more to say about it

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Square Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Village Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing