We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly on a nice day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Square Restaurant

Village Square Restaurant
103 North Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA 22601-4717
540 667 8961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 218 restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
dc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heavenly on a nice day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Sit outside and enjoy the weather while you savor very good food. Stop at the nearby museum after lunch. Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    45
    25
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What's that they say about first impressions?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We really wish we would have reacted differently to our first impression... We approached the
Village Square at roughy 6:30 on a Saturday night. The outside eating area was mostly full, so we thought we'd try inside. Our greeting as we walked inside (maybe we chose the wrong door, but there was no one outside to direct us), was an obvious eye-roll and condescending look that screamed "how dare you bring kids in here!". In their defense, they were not advertising themselves as a family restaurant, but I can't recall eating at a more anti-family dining establishment than this before. For those wondering...our kids (5) range from 16 to 5 and are usually well behaved in public (and did very tonight at the village, despite our temptation to pinch them and let the run wild).

On the plus side, the food my wife and the kids had off the bar menu (pizza and burgers) were tasty. I had the black cod daily special... It was tasty, but I wasn't impressed when I got the bill and found out that it was priced 10-12 dollars higher than anything comparable on the menu. It wasn't a $34 dish.

We'll walk past this one from now on...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“if you are going upscale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I can't afford to eat here often, but my wife and I had a delicious meal, and enjoyed the outdoor Loudoun St. Mall ambiance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great brunch. Food was good and accomodated large group. Did not have to wait long and restaurant was clean. A little expensive for Winchester.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant outdoor dining with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Village Square is on a pedestrian mall in the center of town. In nice weather there is a pleasant outdoor patio for dining. The food and service are both very good. I had the duck spring roll and Halibut with grilled peaches. Both were very good. My wife had a salad and the Ratatouilli tart which she raved about. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Square Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Village Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Square Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.