We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little French cafe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Nicoise Cafe

La Nicoise Cafe
12 South Braddock Street, Winchester, VA 22601
540 722 4557
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 233 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hayesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice little French cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was amazed to find this nice French café in Winchester. It is located near the downtown area. It is decorated like a French café and we had excellent service. Our food was delicious, the bread was fresh baked(yummy) and a wonderful chocolate dessert made it a great place to stop. If we are in the area, I would definitely eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    26
    10
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Deposit, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ladies out on the Town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Seven of us were visiting Winchester for the day and had our dinner meal at the "La Nicoise" Restaurant on 12 South Braddock Street. There are many restaurants in the area, but "La Nicoise" should not be missed. The food was so delicious and well prepared. The menu was so enticing it was hard to make up our minds. Soups, salads, appetizers, entrées, and scrumptious desserts. They also have meals for children. You can choose from a variety of meats, fish and traditional French dishes. Prices are affordable and wine and liquor can be purchased. The owner and chef, Frederick, is very charming and fun to chat with.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Food and Fine People, Too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Winchester on a rainy Sunday and fortunately blundered into this place for brunch, which looked inviting from the outside. The service was almost like attending a really good French family dinner. The owner's granddaughter seated us and brought us beverages and the owner waited on us...and kept us entertained with his jokes. (Oh, yes, the granddaughter also sang a little Carrie Underwood for us and she was pretty good at it.) Anyway, my wife had a very interesting and delicious chicken crepe and I had trout with a curry sauce and shrimp. Very tasty. The best thing was the lime/vodka cheesecake at the end. This place is a real find...a mixture of French and country. The only detracting factor was another very loud party of mixed adults and screaming kids. They should have gone to Mickey-Ds. I even give the owner points how he tactfully encouraged the loud party to get moving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well kept secret gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our favorite Wincester restaurant for a special meal - dinner, lunch or brunch.

More known by locals than travelers - a block away from downtown mall.

Suberb French bisto cuisine in a casual country environment. Chef-owner is meticulous about preparing tasty meals and providing superb service. He not only had great choices for sampling French fare, but he was also very willing to customize his preparations to accommodate dietary needs and prefernces. We will dine at La Nicoise any time we travel within 20 miles of Winchester.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madawaska, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food and good owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had a wonderful brunch Saturday at the Nicoise. It began with an french onion soup that was extraordinary. Followed by the entree Jumbo sea scallops with a wonderful and filling blue cheese sauce. The owner of the restaurant engaged us and was a lot of fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nicoise Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Nicoise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Nicoise Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.