We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Millwood Ave., Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    129
    68
    25
    24
See reviews for
103
119
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an older hotel, without elevators. It is very clean inside, and the desk folks Cyndi and Tina were very, very nice. Because an earlier post was a huge rant about this hotel, I asked them to let me see the room, and they gave me the key to 101. It was immaculately clean, renovated. It was nonsmoking and smelled nice, so we took it. The beds are a lot firmer than I would have liked, but the pillows are fluffy and there was a nice duvet. One thing that surprised me was a $5 charge for my husband. I found the rate online with AAA best rate then was surprised at checkin that it is based on only one in room, so be prepared. Also, not a free breakfast like most Best Westerns. Some consolation with a $2.50 per person coupon for the adjoining Perkins, but still a $20 breakfast, although tasty. Our room had intermittent cold/hot shower water but front desk was glad to learn of it and planned to address it. So, it was adequate and clean, with firm bed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald v, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your business. We do appreciate your comments.

Don Vaden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staying at the Best Western in Winchester VA and enjoying the heck out of it....its an older property but has been updated. The property is huge but didn't have any trouble finding my way around. I got in early; around 11A:30 a.m. and there was no problem checking in because my room was ready, clean and very cozy. The staff was very friendly and very informative about the property and went out of there was to make sure I was satisfied with everything. Some exterior work needs to be done with the lawn but its the beginning of spring and sure the mulch will be down and looking very special. :)

Thank you Best Western, Winchester VA

Room Tip: king rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although bedding and bathroom were clean, carpets and chairs needed deep cleaning. Stains of unknown origin. Receptionist mumbled and was dismissive. We were located on the ground floor and had to walk by other guests who had decided to use the shared walkway as a sitting area where they smoked and chatted for hours. So, as non-smokers, we were assaulted by this groups' smoke every time we needed to get things in the car. We had to turn on the A/C simply to drown out the street noises and chatters. Lampshade was ripped and dented and furniture was dated. This place is in need of a major update. They seemed book to the hilt with the parking lot filled with cars. I guess these people were hoping to get a great deal on a room. You get what you pay for. I cheaped out on this hotel and regret not having spent a few more bucks for a better place. Live and learn. BTW, other reviewers had similar bad experience so beware.

Room Tip: if u must sty here, avoid ground floor and away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is horrible. First of all the rooms are very outdated and all of the furniture is broken and has been pieced back together. The rooms are very dirty and smell of urine and make you feel sick. My bathroom had urine stains on the toilet seat and the tub had hair in it when i checked in like the room has not even been cleaned at all. The carpets are disgusting and have not been cleaned or shampooed in years and this place should be closed down. Dogs bark all night long in the hotel and walls are very thin so if you have a neighbor next door they will hear everything you say. The front desk staff is very rude and upon talking to a young lady named Tina about the problems i was having i was told that i could go somewhere else if i liked but there would not be any refunds given. When she said that there was another young lady next to her that just laughed and thought it was funny and i asked about a manager and they said they don't have a manager. The hallways in the hotel are filthy and looks as if they have not been mopped in years and trash cans are overflowing in the floor. The rooms are all noisy and you will be kept awake by all the outside noise and truckers and motorcycles which park right in the hallways and start them up and the front desk did not even care about i was woke at 7 am. When i went back to sleep i was woken up by mexican lady who were the housekeepers shouting in the halls at each other and singing and even though i had a do not disturb sign on my door and check out was not until 11 am they knocked on my door at 9 am yelling house keeping. There were stink bugs crawiling on the ceiling and windows in my room and walking by other rooms i saw them on the windows as well. The towels were dirty and smelled very bad like they were washed in plain water. This hotel is very outdated and you can tell the owner does not spend a dime putting anything back into this property but he wants to charge $64.99 a night for the room. Do not stay here ever you will be glad you went somewhere else the parking lot is very dark at night and a perfect place for your car to get broken into and property stolen. I asked housekeeping for extra shampoo and they could not understand any english and just looked at me like i was crazy. What kind of hotel has the front desk staff tell a customer that if you don't like it then go somewhere else but i won't ever be back. Stay away from this Bates Motel ! !

Room Tip: All rooms are dirty. Go to another hotel there are plenty of great hotels in Winchester but Best Wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our overnight stay at this BW. It is conveniently located near the I-81 interchange, close to gas stations and withing walking distance to restaurants for dinner. Attached to the hotel is a Perkins restaurant and we were given each a coupon for $2.50 off breakfast. The restaurant is open for dinner also and we were offered coupons for that also. We opted to cross the street for dinner. Mistake. We shd hv stayed put. Breakfast was excellent and the wait staff friendly.
Our room was furnished with wfi, fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, coffee maker etc.Clean and comfy. Great value for the price. We would return. Feb 27, 2013 pd.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald v, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you adain soon.

Donald E. Vaden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 711 Millwood Ave., Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn And Conference Center
Best Western Lee-Jackson Hotel Winchester
Best Western Winchester
Winchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.