We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right near everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Kernstown Commons Blvd., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, PA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Right near everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is a little older than most of the Country Inns, but it is spotless and cheery. The book nook is a nice touch beside the fireplace and hot coffee and two kinds of cookies all day and night make it a great hotel....well...not entirely....the fridge in the room and the microwave help too and the bed and furnishings are also a homey touch....the towels are a little thin though and it took two bath towels to dry off....LOL.
the amenities are nice....
Breakfast ...how can you go wrong with chicken and biscuits and waffles for breakfast?? And I'm not even from the South....there's also fresh fruit and eggs and little muffins....
Great little place off of Valley Rd.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed the hotel and all we have to offer. We rotate our menu each day for hot items but am so glad that you enjoyed the chicken, biscuits and waffles! Nice change to the standard scambled eggs I think.

We hope you will return to see us should your travels return you to our area.
Until then....

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    99
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
215
170
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rated #1 in Winchester, VA, WHY.
The price is fair, but the place is just OK, which must mean that reviewers standards are either low, were paid by the hotel or Winchester does not have very much to offer.
We stayed in "Pet Room". I was assured that it would be very clean and w/o odor. It certainly was reasonably both, but my allergic reaction to cat dander became full blown. What a bore.
Breakfast was ok with very well chopped up scrambled eggs, good bacon, bagels, waffles, oatmeal, watery orange juice, good coffee.
The staff were all very hospitable and courteous.
In a pinch I would have to think twice about returning. My expectations were inflated because of the #1 rating!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback. Although it is my hope that we are able to wow every guest that passed through our doors, with the large volumn we realize that is not possible all of the time. We do our best!

Best wishes for a wonderful Fall season!

Regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I booked our one night stay last night after I came upon this location in my AAA Pet Friendly Hotel Guide as we are traveling with our two furkids. I booked the room from the road and must say I chose the right hotel for the night! The desk clerk was friendly and professional. Our kitties are no problem at all on the road as they're just glad to be with us. The carpet was slightly warn but the room was clean. My only complaint is the PTAC heating system dried out and over warmed the room and didn't shut off, so that even though it was chilly outside we turned the unit to AC. Much better temp but still dry in the room. If our travels bring us this way again we'd be glad to stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we always welcome your furkids!!!

Should your travels bring you our way again, we hope you will stay with us again.

Happy Fall,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Hall, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last evening. We've stayed here previously but this was, by far, the best of our stays. We received a warm greeting from the desk clerk and she got us checked in quickly. Shortly after entering our room, she called to check that everything was OK; a nice touch.The King Suite we had was quite roomy and well-appointed. It was also nice and clean. The room had a television in the bedroom and in the sitting area. The best thing was the room's HVAC system. It was not one of those under-the-window type that are usually noisy and blow directly on the bed. Instead, the unit was in a small closet and the air moved through ductwork much like a home system. It was nice and quiet. I only wish more hotels would use this kind of system. The breakfast selection was really excellent with a nice choice of hot and cold cereal, fruit salad, waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, apples, bananas, and various pastries. The breakfast room attendant was very pleasant and did an excellent job of replenishing those items which were running low. The only minor complaint I might have is that I found the bed to be a bit firm for me. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Winchester, VA area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We LOVE our repeat guests and are happy that we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

We hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Have a wonderful Fall!

Regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot. We use the CIS whenever we can. So our circle of sampling is large. This CIS stands out. It is a property that is located convenient to the interstate, restaurants, gas, entertainment etc. It is beautiful, looks new or at least updated. And, the food is great!!! Stay here, you'll love it. We did!!!

Room Tip: We had no noise problems. We were in a room towards the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so very much for reviewing our hotel and your kind words. There is nothing better then hearing from someone who has stayed in lots of hotels and can appreciate our efforts. I say every day that I am blessed to have the staff that I do. They are all very caring, hard working people and it shows in what we have been able to accomplish here as a team.

We are all very thriled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again should your travels return you to our area.

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay at Country Inn in Winchester, VA. It was great to have an Inn with no smoking what so ever.. The room was nice and clean and we even used the pool and spa. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate hearing what our guests have to say and it helps us see not only what we are doing well, but also where we need to work a little harder.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Have a wonderful Fall season!

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henryville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped over here with reservations but the check in process was very long and the staff cool and unwelcoming - we must have got them after a bed evening but nevertheless we did not feel very welcomed.

The room was ok and the beds comfortable although the air conditioning we could never get quite right so we froze or cooked in alternate periods. In any case we had to be up early and out on the road.

It was not an overly impressive stay one way or the other

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed to learn we were not able to exceed your expections which is our norm. I hope that perhaps you will give us another opportunity should your travels return you to the area. In the meantime, blessings for a wonderful Fall.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd., Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Carlson, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.