We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Winchester

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I booked our one night stay last night after I came upon this location in my AAA Pet Friendly Hotel Guide as we are traveling with our two furkids. I booked the room from the road and must say I chose the right hotel for the night! The desk clerk was friendly and professional. Our kitties are no problem at all on the road as they're just glad to be with us. The carpet was slightly warn but the room was clean. My only complaint is the PTAC heating system dried out and over warmed the room and didn't shut off, so that even though it was chilly outside we turned the unit to AC. Much better temp but still dry in the room. If our travels bring us this way again we'd be glad to stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we always welcome your furkids!!!

Should your travels bring you our way again, we hope you will stay with us again.

Happy Fall,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    51
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
108
92
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Union Hall, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last evening. We've stayed here previously but this was, by far, the best of our stays. We received a warm greeting from the desk clerk and she got us checked in quickly. Shortly after entering our room, she called to check that everything was OK; a nice touch.The King Suite we had was quite roomy and well-appointed. It was also nice and clean. The room had a television in the bedroom and in the sitting area. The best thing was the room's HVAC system. It was not one of those under-the-window type that are usually noisy and blow directly on the bed. Instead, the unit was in a small closet and the air moved through ductwork much like a home system. It was nice and quiet. I only wish more hotels would use this kind of system. The breakfast selection was really excellent with a nice choice of hot and cold cereal, fruit salad, waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, apples, bananas, and various pastries. The breakfast room attendant was very pleasant and did an excellent job of replenishing those items which were running low. The only minor complaint I might have is that I found the bed to be a bit firm for me. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Winchester, VA area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We LOVE our repeat guests and are happy that we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

We hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Have a wonderful Fall!

Regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot. We use the CIS whenever we can. So our circle of sampling is large. This CIS stands out. It is a property that is located convenient to the interstate, restaurants, gas, entertainment etc. It is beautiful, looks new or at least updated. And, the food is great!!! Stay here, you'll love it. We did!!!

Room Tip: We had no noise problems. We were in a room towards the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so very much for reviewing our hotel and your kind words. There is nothing better then hearing from someone who has stayed in lots of hotels and can appreciate our efforts. I say every day that I am blessed to have the staff that I do. They are all very caring, hard working people and it shows in what we have been able to accomplish here as a team.

We are all very thriled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again should your travels return you to our area.

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay at Country Inn in Winchester, VA. It was great to have an Inn with no smoking what so ever.. The room was nice and clean and we even used the pool and spa. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate hearing what our guests have to say and it helps us see not only what we are doing well, but also where we need to work a little harder.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Have a wonderful Fall season!

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henryville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped over here with reservations but the check in process was very long and the staff cool and unwelcoming - we must have got them after a bed evening but nevertheless we did not feel very welcomed.

The room was ok and the beds comfortable although the air conditioning we could never get quite right so we froze or cooked in alternate periods. In any case we had to be up early and out on the road.

It was not an overly impressive stay one way or the other

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed to learn we were not able to exceed your expections which is our norm. I hope that perhaps you will give us another opportunity should your travels return you to the area. In the meantime, blessings for a wonderful Fall.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon,va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoyed my stay, but some other brands of hotels in same price range have nicer hotels. Pool and hot tub sides could use some extra cleaning, not bright white like they should be. Radio/clock did not work, but no biggie. Staff friendly. Breakfast was a bonus. Hotel is very close to several places to eat, and several highways. Downtown Winchester was some 4 miles away. Enjoyed nearby Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (close to downtown Winchester). Nice Patsy Cline exhibit and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It looks as if we have a few things we could work on (although the pool is discolored due to the chemicals so not a lot that can be done there). Thank you for bringing the others to my attention.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels return you to our area.

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I like Country inns. I like the seats outside on the “front porch” even though, as here, there’s no rural idyll vista to look at, just a Shell filling station and the car park of an Outback Steakhouse. I like the lobby area, fitted out with a sofa and chairs, reminiscent of granny’s front room. I like that there’s proper crockery and cutlery in the breakfast area, rather than the plastic throw-away items you get in most hotels. Yes, I know it’s all marketing style but, for me, it works and it distinguishes the chain from others. This was, I think, hotel no. 10 of our trip and, yes, you do realise that, in most matters, one hotel is pretty much like the others.

So, as to matters in Winchester, the hotel is a shortish drive from downtown, just off the interstate and along the inevitable road from town where you’ll find the car dealers and the fast food outlets. Room was clean and well equipped with things like a microwave and fridge. Beds were very comfortable with a firm and supportive mattress. In spite of the relative proximity to busy roads, there’s no intrusive noise. The inclusive breakfast was not bad at all – the usual juices, breads and pastries as well as some hot items – scrambled egg (more of the chopped omelette sort than proper scrambled), a waffle maker, etc.

All round good stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that it met your needs and you enjoyed your time here.

Please keep us in mind should your travels bring you back to our area. We will look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Winchester

Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.