We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
north west england
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I like Country inns. I like the seats outside on the “front porch” even though, as here, there’s no rural idyll vista to look at, just a Shell filling station and the car park of an Outback Steakhouse. I like the lobby area, fitted out with a sofa and chairs, reminiscent of granny’s front room. I like that there’s proper crockery and cutlery in the breakfast area, rather than the plastic throw-away items you get in most hotels. Yes, I know it’s all marketing style but, for me, it works and it distinguishes the chain from others. This was, I think, hotel no. 10 of our trip and, yes, you do realise that, in most matters, one hotel is pretty much like the others.

So, as to matters in Winchester, the hotel is a shortish drive from downtown, just off the interstate and along the inevitable road from town where you’ll find the car dealers and the fast food outlets. Room was clean and well equipped with things like a microwave and fridge. Beds were very comfortable with a firm and supportive mattress. In spite of the relative proximity to busy roads, there’s no intrusive noise. The inclusive breakfast was not bad at all – the usual juices, breads and pastries as well as some hot items – scrambled egg (more of the chopped omelette sort than proper scrambled), a waffle maker, etc.

All round good stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that it met your needs and you enjoyed your time here.

Please keep us in mind should your travels bring you back to our area. We will look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    62
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
141
119
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago on our way to NY, and we were very pleased with the accommodation. The check-in woman was most helpful, and everything seemed clean and comfortable. I particularly liked the fact that, at breakfast, we didn't have to eat off plastic plates with plastic utensils or drink our coffee out of plastic cups (a real pet peeve of mine). Two restaurants are within easy walking distance of the motel, so we didn't have to get back in the car and drive somewhere to eat--a plus in my opinion. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you and your friend found everything to be satisfactory with your stay. Our location is wonderful for weary travelers who dont wish to get back in the car.

I hope you will continue to stay with us should your travels return you to the area.

Kind regards,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This property was all I could hope for. I am one of those people who actually fear hotels. I normally do not look forward to out-of-town trips where I will be forced to stay in a hotel and this trip was no different in that respect. However, I had read all of the great reviews and I was hopeful that the property would live up to all of the hype it was being given...and it did. The front desk staff was great, even taking the time to remember that we were there for a wedding and asking us about it the next day, the room was remarkably clean, the housekeepers went over-and-beyond to make sure everything was the way it should be and the breakfast was just what one would need to get their day started. The wonderful lady taking care of us at breakfast loved her job and it was appararent to her customers. So, for this hotel to win over a person with a long-time phobia of hotels, is saying a lot. If and when we are ever back in this area, this will be the hotel of choice for us. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I cannot tell you how happy I am that we were able to meet and exceed all your expectations and ease your phobia of hotels. I say all the time that I am blessed to have the staff that I do. They are wonderful, caring, hard working people and some of them have been here since the hotel opened. I wouldn't trade them for anything in the world.

We hope your travels bring you back to the area at some point and we get to see you again.

Until then,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As my last visit to this location was a disaster (see July 2011 review), I chose to return to
"the scene of the crime" on 8/31 to see if anything had changed. I must say that my faith has been restored in this property. No issues at check-in. The room was in perfect condition. Bedding and bath were appointed properly. WiFi was easy to access. Breakfast had the eggs, sausage & home fries in addition to the waffles. Check-out was a breeze. The staff as always has been welcoming and accomodating.
I believe in second chances and this place has earned it. If given the opportunity, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving us a second chance. I too believe in them and I am thrilled we were able to rise to the occassion and make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Until then,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Could not have asked for more. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Room was just what I requested: quiet, away from the ice machine, away from loud groups, away from the elevator. Breakfast was more than sufficient. Plenty of tea selections to satisfy me :) Indoor pool temperature was just how I like it to get a good water aerobics work out. The hot tub allowed me to relax. Excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a member, call the desk directly. This way, you will get the points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled to learn we were able to make your stay here "wonderful"! That is always our goal and my staff works hard to make sure we can provide all of our guests a memorable, great experience.

We will look forward to having you with us again should your travels bring you back to our area!

Until then,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We picked this hotel for an over night stay on our way to New York. The hotel was very clean, the staff was helpful and breakfast the next morning was very good. We arrived late after traveling and was promptly checked in and off to our room. The beds are very comfortable, the room was very clean and the bathroom was well stocked. The breakfast buffet the next morning was fresh and hot. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this property. The location is a little hard to find off Hwy 81, but our GPS got us right to the hotel. Lots of dining options close by if you are in the area for a meal.

Room Tip: We had a room near the elevator and didn't have any noise from the elevator or the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you found us and we were able to exceed your expectations. We will look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A gem amongst hotels, from the very friendly and welcoming staff to the always superb accomodations. A non-quibble pet policy allows me to bring my two dogs for an extra $20 each. And the Carrabas in the same commons is one of their best and will extend to you a free hors d'oevres just for saying you are staying at the Country Inn. Or if you're looking for something really unique and different for dinner, Winchester's promenade in the heart of the old city is a ten minute drive and has some great non-chain restaurants. On your way out next day, don't miss their free breakfast set up, beautifully layed out by a gal who takes pride in her work.

Room Tip: I've stayed there several times and never got a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that we were able to meet the needs of you and your pets. We love pets here! And as for my staff - they are wonderful. I am blessed to have such a hard working, caring team.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Winchester

Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.