We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Winchester

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Winchester
strasburg va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time staying here. We had the romantic getaway package, king bed, jacuzzi, movie passes, & dinner.Check in was smooth and 2 hours early. They even called our room & ask if everything was satisfactory. Room was the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy we were able to make your romantic getaway ever so special! We hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Spring!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    51
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
108
92
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wasn't disappointed . Clean , comfortable , excellent staff . Breakfast in morning with a cheerful hostess. It all came together again as I expected it would . I've stayed at 4 places in the areaover many many years and this will always be my go to when they have a vacancy . I didn't know how far I was going to get due to rain/snow on my trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We LOVE our repeat guests and I am so glad we have been able to repeatedly meet your expectations. My hope is that it will continue. We will look forward to your next stay. Until then.........

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on an emergency trip heading towards Reading PA. The young man behind the desk was very helpful. We arrived late at night and he did everything to make sure we got settled. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Much needed due to the stress of the trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so thankful that we were a bright spot on your emergency trip. One of the things I love most about this business is we are able to touch peoples lives daily in the best and worst of times for them and hopefully make a small positive difference. Thank you again and I hope you will stay again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon arrival there was a growing line, and only one person helping people check in and it seemed like a complicated process. Then a (manager?) appeared but just kind of looked over the clerk's shoulder like a lot of managers do when they should be helping out. She disappeared for a while. Then she escorted someone out of the building with a large older television. I guess they are selling off the ones that have been replaced by the nice flatscreens? Maybe this process could happen at other than peak check in times. In any case, she finally concluded that business and took up position at the computer to help the next guest (which I was). Once focused on this task, it was efficient and friendly. But all told this was about a 15 minute long wait, after a long day on the road. And I was second in line!

The rooms are large, clean, well furnished, and have 2 nice flatscreen televisions.The pool area is large, clean, and not busy when we used it. Lots of towels available and a shower in the corner to rinse off. A very nice facility. Some good places to eat in walking distance, but beware the italian place (covered in a separate review)

Two issues with the room, the bathroom door won't fully open because it hits the shower curtain bar (it's one of those curved ones that give you more room when showering). Also the ceiling light by the door flashes when turned off (it has a CFL bulb in it and they can do this when de-powered). It scared my kids.

In terms of the breakfast, it was good, there are hot options, wish there was cream cheese for the bagels.

One last note, although I am a club carlson member and this was acknowledged at check in any by a welcome note in the room, I'm more accustomed with this chain to get a bit more, such as some water bottles, granola bars, etc. which have always made us feel welcomed in the past.

Despite these minor details I'm still giving this a 5 rating because it was a good night's sleep, in a comfortable room, and I think a good value for the price paid for a 1br suite.

It's also a bit hard to get to this property from i-81 since it's an exit off that highway to another highway and then another exit and the signs were a bit confusing.

Room Tip: I'd face the front so you can see your car in the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your honest feedback. It is always helpful to know where we can do better. It looks like overall it was a positive experience. We look forward to having you and your family with us again should your travels bring you to our area.

Best wishes for a wonderful 2013!

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay here twice a year and recommend the place highly Staff are terrific friendly helpful
Place is clean well kept Rooms comfortable with new flat screen tv Pool clean refreshing and jacuzzi warm and soothing
Excellent restaurant near by Violino worth the trip

Room Tip: Ground floor either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love our repeat guests!!!!!
We will look forward to your return. In the meantime, best wishes for a wonderful New Year!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly for only $20 extra per night and because it had great reviews. It did not disappoint! Friendly staff, very clean facility, and they quickly relocated our room due to noise in the room above. We loved it!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are only on the 1st floor. To avoid noisy guest above you, ask for a 3rd floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds as if you had a great stay and I am so happy we were able to assist in making that happen. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBILE
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pulled in after a long drive and was happy to find friendly, efficient folks at the desk. Checked in easily and quickly, went to our room and found it to be just perfect. Clean, good size, great amenities, no smell at all. Lots of good food closeby, quiet, great breakfast, everything we needed. We will definitely stay here next time we venture northward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that we met all of your expectations and do hope you will stay with us again. Best wishes for a wonderful New Year!

Best regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Winchester

Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.