We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Kernstown Commons Blvd., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on an emergency trip heading towards Reading PA. The young man behind the desk was very helpful. We arrived late at night and he did everything to make sure we got settled. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Much needed due to the stress of the trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so thankful that we were a bright spot on your emergency trip. One of the things I love most about this business is we are able to touch peoples lives daily in the best and worst of times for them and hopefully make a small positive difference. Thank you again and I hope you will stay again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    100
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
216
170
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon arrival there was a growing line, and only one person helping people check in and it seemed like a complicated process. Then a (manager?) appeared but just kind of looked over the clerk's shoulder like a lot of managers do when they should be helping out. She disappeared for a while. Then she escorted someone out of the building with a large older television. I guess they are selling off the ones that have been replaced by the nice flatscreens? Maybe this process could happen at other than peak check in times. In any case, she finally concluded that business and took up position at the computer to help the next guest (which I was). Once focused on this task, it was efficient and friendly. But all told this was about a 15 minute long wait, after a long day on the road. And I was second in line!

The rooms are large, clean, well furnished, and have 2 nice flatscreen televisions.The pool area is large, clean, and not busy when we used it. Lots of towels available and a shower in the corner to rinse off. A very nice facility. Some good places to eat in walking distance, but beware the italian place (covered in a separate review)

Two issues with the room, the bathroom door won't fully open because it hits the shower curtain bar (it's one of those curved ones that give you more room when showering). Also the ceiling light by the door flashes when turned off (it has a CFL bulb in it and they can do this when de-powered). It scared my kids.

In terms of the breakfast, it was good, there are hot options, wish there was cream cheese for the bagels.

One last note, although I am a club carlson member and this was acknowledged at check in any by a welcome note in the room, I'm more accustomed with this chain to get a bit more, such as some water bottles, granola bars, etc. which have always made us feel welcomed in the past.

Despite these minor details I'm still giving this a 5 rating because it was a good night's sleep, in a comfortable room, and I think a good value for the price paid for a 1br suite.

It's also a bit hard to get to this property from i-81 since it's an exit off that highway to another highway and then another exit and the signs were a bit confusing.

Room Tip: I'd face the front so you can see your car in the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your honest feedback. It is always helpful to know where we can do better. It looks like overall it was a positive experience. We look forward to having you and your family with us again should your travels bring you to our area.

Best wishes for a wonderful 2013!

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay here twice a year and recommend the place highly Staff are terrific friendly helpful
Place is clean well kept Rooms comfortable with new flat screen tv Pool clean refreshing and jacuzzi warm and soothing
Excellent restaurant near by Violino worth the trip

Room Tip: Ground floor either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love our repeat guests!!!!!
We will look forward to your return. In the meantime, best wishes for a wonderful New Year!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly for only $20 extra per night and because it had great reviews. It did not disappoint! Friendly staff, very clean facility, and they quickly relocated our room due to noise in the room above. We loved it!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are only on the 1st floor. To avoid noisy guest above you, ask for a 3rd floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds as if you had a great stay and I am so happy we were able to assist in making that happen. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBILE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pulled in after a long drive and was happy to find friendly, efficient folks at the desk. Checked in easily and quickly, went to our room and found it to be just perfect. Clean, good size, great amenities, no smell at all. Lots of good food closeby, quiet, great breakfast, everything we needed. We will definitely stay here next time we venture northward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that we met all of your expectations and do hope you will stay with us again. Best wishes for a wonderful New Year!

Best regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the 4th time. We love the area and the service and we surprised to find that they offer a room with a jetted tub in addition to the full bath. We were offered the upgrade and were pleasantly surprised, especially since we were there as part of our anniversary. The room also had a very nice gas fireplace. Who knew the Country Inn and Suites could be so romantic?

We did have a slight issue but it was resolved VERy quickly by the attentive desk/mainatnence staff. They couldn't be any nicer. The breakfast was fresh and good. I was disappointed that I couldn't get a regular tea bag. I am not a coffee drinker and I don't like anything but plain black tea. There were no plain, caffeinated, tea bags to be found. :(

The location is perfect. Several nice places to go without having to drive. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and more importantly...
HAPPY BELATED ANNIVERSARY! I am so happy we were able to be a small part in
making it a memorable experience for you. Please come back and see us soon. We love
our repeat guests.

Best wishes for a wonderful Holiday Season and the New Year!

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've stayed here many times en route to visiting family & friends, and we have never been disappointed. The hotel offers clean, comfortable rooms, and easy accessibility to dining options nearby. Their breakfasts are great -- as are the chocolate chip cookies awaiting you upon your arrival!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We LOVE our repeat guests!!!!! Hope to see you again very soon. Until then, heres wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season and the happiest of New Years!

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd., Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Carlson so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.