We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Kernstown Commons Blvd., Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Planned on staying there as a midpoint on a trip to north carolina. Booked the room with reward points and it was actually free. Comfortable bed and quiet. Breakfast was good as well.Would stay there again--even if it wasn't free

Room Tip: asked for a quiet room and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you to our area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    100
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
216
170
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The desk staff were extremely hospitable and helpful. The room was spotless and spacious. Breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip. Same owners have the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema next door that offers meals during the movie. Fun experience and decent food. What a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I could not agree with you more in saying our staff is excellent. I say all the time I am blessed to have the staff that I do. They are all hard working, caring people who truly have the best interest of our guests at heart.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Until then, have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we arrived about 8:30 PM we could not find a parking spot and had to wait about 10 minutes for someone to leave. The desk clerk explained that there was a meeting going on as well as an aerobics class. We had a room with a king size bed which was very comfortable. The room was large and spotless. Everyone working in this hotel was friendly and helpful. The A/C was a negative - noisy, and cold when on/stuffy when off. Because our room was at the end of the first floor we could hear kids running up and down the stairs (there were sports teams in the hotel) The wi-fi connection was rather cumbersome since you have to go through a third party vendor and then the hotel website to get to the internet. Water temperature for showers was an issue. It took a very long time for the water to get hot enough. The second morning I could not get cold water in the sink. The breakfast buffet was excellent. In addition to the normal items you would expect they provided scrambled eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon, potatoes or biscuits. The coffee was very good.
The location is convenient - at the I-81 interchange and a very quick ride into downtown Winchester. There are restaurants and shopping close to the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor end rooms are noisy due to people going up and down the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you to our area. In the meantime, we hope you have a wonderful Holiday Season.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had booked this hotel online as our first night's base for our motorcycle road trip. After driving for 12 hrs, we arrived to a very welcoming and hospitable establishment. Check in was a breeze, the rooms were clean and it has a full breakfast included (with bacon, sausage etc!)
The front desk staff was very accommodating, the beds were clean and comfortable and the hotel was very quiet and restful.
It is in walking distance (2 minutes) to a few known restaurants (Outback, Subway and McDonald's) and has easy on/off highway access.
A very pleasant stay and I highly recommend it for weary travelers wanting to spend a restful night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Weary travelers are our specialty and I am glad we were able to exceed your
expectations. I hope you will consider staying with us again should your travels
bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I purchased a night at the Country Inn & Suites on Priceline. You get what you pay for; the hotel staff was friendly, and the location was pretty convenient-- an Alamo Drafthouse right outside the door, and a few restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was your typical continental breakfast... but I couldn't toast my bagel because the toaster was broken, and my husband said that his breakfast wasn't that great. Overall, not a bad experience in the least... but also, not great. This hotel is "average."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the last night of our vacation before returning to the UK from Dulles Airport, Washington which is about an hour's leisurely drive away. The reception staff were welcoming, professional and found us the perfect room for a good night's sleep before our long trip home. The room was large, very comfortable, clean and quiet. The bathroom was well appointed with clean, fluffy towels. We also made use of the business room to complete our online check in and to print our boarding passes for the following day's flight. The breakfast was above average with plenty of choice and is was great to have "proper" crockery and cutlery. There is a good choice of restaurants nearby. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope you will visit again next time you are in the country!

Our best for a Happy Fall!

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Our room was flawless - nothing exceptional in the appointments but well laid out and furnished. The complementary breakfast is above average. There are several full- service restaurants within walking distance and the hotel is just off I-81.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your
stay with us and sincerely hope we will see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd., Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.