We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 years later and still brand new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Winchester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 years later and still brand new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the BEST Candlewood Suites I have stayed in. I first stayed at this hotel 5 years ago (after it first opened) for 30 days. I just returned for a two night stay based on my experience 5 years earlier. There are plenty of new hotels in Winchester now, but I liked the price offered and I knew what I would get. Rooms are well stocked as well as the hotel cupboard. Great selection of movies to borrow and books to read. After 5 years, the hotel looks and smells new. The staff is wonderful, location great, and priced just right! Doug Bell (manager) runs the place like a well oiled machine. STAY here if passing through or for your family vacation!! Can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    38
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
41
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Conveniently located, first floor pet+ accessible room was a great combo! Low pet fee (compared to most)..room clean and spacious....recommend...staff cordial...workout room clean. Plenty of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Had room 108. Pet +accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel located in a very historic area is especially nice for people travelling with their dogs. We have stayed here more than once and have been satisfied with th spacious and clean room with full kitchens, free wifi large desks, flat screen t.v.s and comfortable beds.

On the downside, they do not provide breakfast. On this particular visit, they made an error on bill which they quickly corrected when I brought it to their attention and provided to wrong code for the free wifi.

The historical area ofWinchester has a pedestrian mall with several restaurants with outdoor dining that welcome dogs. We find this especially useful since we have a dog that suffers from separation anxiety.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor when bringing fido
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lorgagi,

We are glad to hear that you and your four-legged family member enjoyed your stay at our Candlewood Suites Winchester. As you mentioned, our amenities and spacious rooms are designed to provide comfortable stay. We apologize for the billing error, however, we are glad that our staff was able to quickly resolve the issue and met your expectations.

Thank you for your kind response and we hope to see you again in your future trips to Winchester area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here after reading some of the reviews. We were disappointed in the room, the beds were rather lumpy and the pillows small. The front desk was not helpful. Our TV did not work. It would turn off after 5 minutes. When we called the front desk, he blamed it on the weather. I checked the weather on my tablet and it did not show anything major in the area. They did reduce the bill by $10 when we checked out and complained. The towels were large but not very soft and our bathroom was tiny. After paying for breakfast elsewhere, I don't think the price was such a good deal. We saw a lot of people there with their pets. I doubt I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Howie28904,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that all the points you've raised will be looked into.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to make your stay the best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this Winchester, VA Candlewood Suites on two separate occasions in March of 2013. We had our dog with us. We liked this hotel. No problems with check in. The rooms were very large and clean with high ceilings. The bedding was better than average, the bathroom was huge. The towels are large and thick. The kitchen was well equipped with all the appliances, dishes, pots and pans we needed. The coffee maker was good. The cable TV had no listings channel, but the TV, while a bit dated worked fine. And we had a decent nights sleep.

While they are very dog friendly one BIG drawback was that there was really no adequate area to walk your dog. The hotel has set aside a tiny grassy spot in the back of the building behind a huge dumpster, and a narrow grass strip in which to walk your dog. Sad to say these areas are filthy, the fault of both the hotel and the dog owners.

Because this hotel has full kitchens and comfortable rooms, trades people stay there during the workweek, and I believe there are a few full time residents. We thought it was quieter when we were there on the weekend.

Other than the unfortunate dog area and a noisy weekday morning, we thought this Candlewood was a solid value for people passing through or even spending a few days. We have no problem giving this hotel a good recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is your typical Candlewood suite. Place was clean, check in was fast and price was reasonable. It's located real close to I-81 so it is an easy place to stop at if traveling by. Rooms come with a kitchen. There is a small store in the hotel where you can buy breakfast cereal to have in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are glad that our hotel has met your expectations as being a Candlewood Suites brand hotel. We are proud to be one of the Candlewood Suites hotels and confident with our consistency in services and amenities throughout the brand.

Thank you for your kind review and we hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have dogs, and this place is pet friendly and convenient to grocery stores and restaurants. Definitely stay here, it's worth the money.This hotel was packed when I was there, but it was easy to get to the grill and walk the dogs.

Room Tip: They all feel new, No pool, it just would not let me change that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Candlewood Suites Winchester. We always enjoy accommodating travelers with pets. In addition to newly renovated lobby and exterior paint, we recently refreshed our fitness center with fresh coat of paint.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Winchester

Address: 1135 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester, VA Hotel Offers Convenient Location The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Winchester is the ideal choice for long-term travelers. We're conveniently located near Interstate 81 and the attractions of downtown Winchester, VA. Our hotel is only a short drive from a variety of attractions. The interactive Discovery Museum and the Old Court House Civil War Museum are just few of the many museums just miles from our hotel. Winchester's historic, downtown district is the perfect place to shop and see the history of the town, or you can head outdoors to explore the beautiful Shenandoah Valley area. Business travelers will benefit from our convenient location near American Woodmark, Rubbermaid, H.P. Hood, Kraft, Shenandoah University, Trex, Winchester Medical Center and other businesses in Winchester. Lodging here also gives you easy access to our 24-hour business center with copy, fax and print services. We go beyond the other hotels in Winchester to offer you the amenities extended stay travelers want, such as free laundry facilities, a Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and a 24-hour fitness center. Every suite features a fully equipped kitchen, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32' TV with a DVD player and a workspace with an over-sized desk, a speakerphone and free high-speed Internet access. Call today to learn more about the great deals available at our pet friendly, extended stay hotel in Winchester, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Candlewood Winchester
Winchester Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.