We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Winchester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was our second stay at this property. We chose it because it allows pets and the reviews were good. We agree with all the reviews. The rooms are clean and the service excellent. The elevator was broken a day during our stay as well but repaired quickly. If you're staying several days, keep in mind there is no housekeeping for the first week of your stay (you can exchange towels at the desk). At first I thought I wouldn't like that but quickly found that not to be an issue at all. There is no pool, etc so that might be a disappointment for those traveling with children. All the rooms have DVD players and nice TVs and there is a large library of DVDs in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
41
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

clean - nice folks - pet friendly - we stayed one night, but with the kitchen and all utensils in every room we could have stayed a week The fitness center looked nice, but we did not use it, The public access computer worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I recently spent one night in Winchester to visit an old high school friend. I was traveling from one locale to another and had my dogs in tow. I compared a list of all the dog friendly hotels in the area with their TA reviews and decided upon this one. I think the good reviews are on target. The hotel was clean, bed was comfortable, the front desk staff was friendly and they are very accommodating to travelers with dogs (up to 2 dogs, no more than 80 pounds, small fee). Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a good overnight in Winchester, particularly those traveling with their canine family members.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I've stayed at several Candlewood Suites around the US, and this one is a good one. We chose this hotel because it allows pets, but we ended up not needing to bring our pets along. Our family had two rooms. The rooms were clean and attractive. The kitchenettes were not really used, but it is nice to have a fridge to keep food and drinks and any leftover meals.
The beds were very comfortable - the key issue, really, for me. For once, I did not bring my laptop, but ended up having to use the single computer in the lobby. Adequate for my needs.
The lobby is small, but that's okay with me.
The location was very good - convenient to the university where we attended a graduation.
Very good pricing for this type of set up. You are not paying luxury prices, so don't expect luxury bath items or a fancy lobby. But the beds are great and the rooms are fine!
I recommend this hotel, especially if you need a kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stopped at the Candlewood with my wife and 3 young kids on our way to the Outer Banks. Got the one bedroom suite with kitchenette and the room was very large, comfortable, and spacious. While we did not stay long, the kitchenette was nice to cook up some microwave dinners. Room was very clean and beds were very comfortable. The issue we had was that the elevator was broken and with 3 young kids they put us on the 4th (top) floor. Also the shower water pressure was very very high was almost uncomfortable. Otherwise it was a very nice stay.

Overall, this as a good hotel. We were able to get a friends and family rate, which made it better. If we were to pay full price, we would have probably stayed somewhere else, since we were only staying the one night.

Room Tip: Google friends and family rate code.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My mother and I stayed here, because it was the most pet friendly hotel we could find. The rooms were nice, and exactly what we needed. Everything was very neat and clean. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Candlewood. However, a few hours after we had checked out, I realized that I had left behind my nice, woolen pea coat behind in the closet of our room... I called to see if it had been reported as found, and they said that it had not. The front desk manager said that he would run back to the room to check for me, and he found that the room had already been cleaned by housekeeping and that there was no sign of my coat! I have called for the past several days, and my coat still has not turned up. The staff has assured me that I must be mistaken, and is rude every time that I speak with them. I know that they are free from responsibility of anything left behind, but still, isn't it just a courtesy to hold on to something if it is found? Especially something expensive?! I will never stay here again, solely due to the fact that I feel that I couldn't trust the staff. I was truly disappointed in their lack of character displayed throughout this entire ordeal.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This was my second stay at a Candlewood property and I only have good things to say about my experiences. The building felt very new and clean and the beds are really comfortable. The fact that the rooms have full kitchens make this place an excellent value. Additionally they are pet friendly and the staff was very nice. Candlewood will be my first choice wherever I stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Winchester

Address: 1135 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester, VA Hotel Offers Convenient Location The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Winchester is the ideal choice for long-term travelers. We're conveniently located near Interstate 81 and the attractions of downtown Winchester, VA. Our hotel is only a short drive from a variety of attractions. The interactive Discovery Museum and the Old Court House Civil War Museum are just few of the many museums just miles from our hotel. Winchester's historic, downtown district is the perfect place to shop and see the history of the town, or you can head outdoors to explore the beautiful Shenandoah Valley area. Business travelers will benefit from our convenient location near American Woodmark, Rubbermaid, H.P. Hood, Kraft, Shenandoah University, Trex, Winchester Medical Center and other businesses in Winchester. Lodging here also gives you easy access to our 24-hour business center with copy, fax and print services. We go beyond the other hotels in Winchester to offer you the amenities extended stay travelers want, such as free laundry facilities, a Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and a 24-hour fitness center. Every suite features a fully equipped kitchen, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32' TV with a DVD player and a workspace with an over-sized desk, a speakerphone and free high-speed Internet access. Call today to learn more about the great deals available at our pet friendly, extended stay hotel in Winchester, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Candlewood Winchester
Winchester Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.