We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Courtyard. No Fridge or Microwave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winchester to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard. No Fridge or Microwave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed at this Courtyard for a week in March. It is a newer property (so new, the road it's on didn't show up on my GPS). If you are looking for this property, type in '10 Ward St. Winchester) and you'll see it.

Property is clean and well maintained. It is close to the turnpike so there is a lot of road noise. Because the property is perpendicular to to the road, there is no quieter side to the hotel. I'd stay at the back of the property to at least avoid road noise from Northwestern Pike.

Rooms are comfortable. The bed was OK (I like heavier comforters and the bedding was very light). There is no extra bedding in the room so you have to ask if you need more blankets. Water pressure/temperature was good throughout the stay. The internet service was free and generally worked well.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The property is a short drive to down town Winchester and the Winchester Medical Center.

I got the room from Marriott's web site for about $83/night (which is a good price for a Courtyard).

If you head west on Northwestern Pike, you'll find a Walmart and some fast food restaurants. Otherwise, you have to go into town for a choice of restaurants.

Overall a good week stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
34
40
17
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

From the moment I first called to inform the front desk staff that we were ahead of schedule and wondering if we could check in early the staff was nothing but helpful. What a treat to be able to check in a few hours early with no hassle. It only got better from there with a wonderful room, clean lobby and helpful staff. The ONLY downside (which was actually fine for us on this visit) is that it is outside the center of Winchester and the only food/activities within a short drive/walk are WalMart and Applebees.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

This was our last hotel prior to drving back to Washington DC and our flight home.
Did not appreciate being told that they could not check us in when we arrived as no room was available. Check in is quoted as being from 3pm...but we couldn't get our room till 4:25pm.
We had a king room which was of a good size and clean.
There was no fridge in the room.
Internet connection in the room was good. Disappointed with the TV reception which was quite poor had "a snowy picture" on every channel.
The bed was comfortable but didn't really have a good nights sleep as our room faced the main road which was quite noisy.
Breakfast was good, with hot and cold selection - but as we had paid for breakfast I did expect it to be fairly good.
Compared with a stay we had in another Marriott, I was alittle disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott in Winchester this past weekend and we were oh-so impressed! The rooms are laid out nicely, the furniture is new/clean, the decor is lovely, the breakfast was yummy (although it cost extra), the staff were friendly and helfpul .... overall it was paradise in Winchester! We HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We were looking for a place for a romantic getaway, about halfway between my home in the Northeast and his home in the Southeast. Winchester seemed to be the mid-point, and with a rate of $55/night at Priceline we thought we couldn't go wrong. And we didn't. The staff were very friendly and hospitable, the hotel was nice and in good shape and nearly new, and the location of the hotel is good--not far from the charming Old Towne Winchester, and about 15 minutes from Skyline Caverns, which was well worth the trip. This made our romantic getaway even more special, and we hope to return to Winchester, and the Courtyard, someday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Great Hotel! Friendly Staff. Reasonable rates. Arrived at 8pm and asked if there were any movie theaters nearby, and the front desk suggested a local drive in. What a Blast! I haven't been to a drive in for over 20 years. My 4 and 7 year old loved it. If you are planning on staying at this location get directions to the drive in, its about a mile past Stephens City on route 11 south.

Only one complaint, the towels. Not a big deal, just not what I expecting from a Marriott branded hotel. They were small, thin, rough, and smelled funny.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Atlantic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Excellent hotel all the way around. After being dropped from the new Hilton Garden Inn (reservation was bumped), we ended up here. Excellent hotel, new and crisp as the day it opened. We loved it - the staff is so attentive and professional. We went to a restaurant recommended by the staff, the Venice Italian Restaurant, and LOVED the food (only about 5 minutes away from hotel). Also, the hotel is very close the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, where we dined on an excellent lunch (a must-see museum and must-eat restaurant!). The hotel is so comfortable, well lit, clean and nice, I can't wait to go back to Winchester!!

We also loved the breakfast buffet (staff for breakfast was superb and so kind to our baby daughter) and there is a bar in hotel for drinks/socializing with family in the cozy lobby, which has an open feel and computers for use.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Address: 300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Alleghany and Blue Ridge Mountains the Courtyard by Marriott Winchester Medical Center resides among the areas famous orchards and Civil War Battlefields and is located adjacent to the Winchester Medical Center, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley and Rock Harbor Golf Course. Just a mile from Historic Old Town Winchester and Shenandoah University, we are strategically located to all Winchester-Frederick County area attractions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winchester Hotel Winchester
Courtyard Winchester
Winchester Courtyard
Winchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.