We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to better Marriott Hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winchester to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Been to better Marriott Hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here during the easter weekend for a friend's wedding and because we are silver members with Marriott we normally default to stay in a Marriott if there is one close by. Courtyard was the closest Marriott to the wedding and we read the property is fairly clean and the service is friendly. The property's cleanliness was average and I've seen better at other Marriott's I've stayed at, but it wasn't horrible. The service was probably, by far, one of the worse experiences we've encountered at a Marriott. We checked in late on Friday night after a delayed flight and the gentleman that assisted us was rude. In the middle of checking us in, the phone rings and he picks it up and instead of asking the individual to hold while he finishes servicing us, he continues to talk to the individual while checking us in. He whispered to us to get our ID and didn't converse with us the entire time, except login why we are staying at their hotel and telling us the location of the elevator after handing us the key. He didn't give us any eye contact as well and didn't thank us for choosing to stay at their hotel. We normally get very friendly and courteous service at the other Marriott properties we have stayed at. Also, we called in to housekeeping that our toilet wouldn't flush, but no one showed up to fix the problem. Maybe they were thinking that since we were going to be checking out that day already there was no point in fixing it while we were still there. Also something I have never encountered at a Marriott. If I was to go to Winchester again, I do not think I will be staying at this Courtyard again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
36
41
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here x 2 nights after being snowed in. The front desk staff was superb and extremely accommodating. The room was OK, and the bathroom - let's not talk about it. I have pictures of various things, but I prefer not to include them. The snow days had created a mess, and the snow removal on property ground was not terrific...Even with the preferred rate, for the quality, it was expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is an attractive, easily-reached property, and is especially convenient to the Winchester Medical Center, only guests need to be aware that rooms located on the front side above the main entrance can be quite noisy, owing to heavy tractor trailer traffic at all hours on US 50. An additional caveat--room prices have recently increased significantly, plus the complimentary breakfast is soon to disappear.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I did not think that I would write a negative review of Marriott property, but this hotel pretty much does it. It is definitely not up to Marriott standards. It in a average state of repair and cleanliness. Rooms are cramped, night stands are tiny, bed is the most uncomfortable. It is hard, lumpy, and very bouncy. Jacuzzi pool had plenty of hair swimming in it. Towels are in shameful condition: they are grey, worn-out rags. The room did not have "do-not disturb" sign to put on the door, did not have a list of TV channels lineup and also it did not have a box of tissues. To top it all, in the morning all hot water in the hotel was turned off, so we could not take a shower before leaving. The front desk explained that there is an emergency and water will be back on in some time, but just could not wait that long. Breakfast is not included in Courtyard. It is additional ten bucks per guest. Overall, pretty bad experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for an overnight while passing through with my family. I asked for an adjoining room and what the cost would be. I was told 102. I found that extremely good, yet very low priced, therefore I confirmed that price was for an adjoining room and was told that yes it was, plus I had AAA therefore that discounted the room as well.

I ended up being double charged even though my emailed receipt was 102. I called and left various messages for Linda Gray the manager and she never returned my call. The staff was rude and did not attempt to help at all.

I am still waiting for a refund and will most likely have to take it up with corporate.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Well maintained with friendly front desk staff and good service. Better breakfast than some other Courtyard Marriott properties. It is a bit off the main highway but not inconvenient. We stayed here on the way home because of the good Marriott rewards program benefits.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorefield, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here due to a very early Drs appointment . I had checked out the reviews and was nerves about Booking a room because their was a lot of bad Reviews. So I took a chance...... So Glad We did !!!! It was very pleasant stay!! Room was very clean and comfortable !! We will be doing this again .... Do NOT be afraid to stay at this 5 star Courtyard !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Address: 300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Alleghany and Blue Ridge Mountains the Courtyard by Marriott Winchester Medical Center resides among the areas famous orchards and Civil War Battlefields and is located adjacent to the Winchester Medical Center, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley and Rock Harbor Golf Course. Just a mile from Historic Old Town Winchester and Shenandoah University, we are strategically located to all Winchester-Frederick County area attractions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winchester Hotel Winchester
Courtyard Winchester
Winchester Courtyard
Winchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.