We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I forgot to request a room with a refrigerator. I called the front desk and one was brought up immediately. The location was very convenient for our destination of Asheville, NC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
30
36
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The aesthetics were wonderful, the bed the very comfortable, however.... The hotel was only 6 years old and was in great shape, but my television looked like it was left here from the 90's. Poor picture quality and in an obscure location in the room. The air conditioning on this 80+ degree day could not be adjusted with the thermostat and actually got warmer rather than cooler, and was located in the corner of the room and was very ineffective. Lastly the light in the bathroom flickered constantly. The location was convenient to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the apple blossom festival. Very easy to get to, left out of hotel and right in old town Winchester, less than five minutes.

Staff was very friendly at check in and out. Room was clean, some pretty loud noise from TV next door. The pool was nice for the kid.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I must admit, this was not my first choice. I chose to stay at Courtyard by Marriott Winchester for its discounted price with Shenandoah University; however, I was thoroughly impressed. The staff was extremely welcoming and accommodating. I received a free breakfast coupon since I was interviewing with SU. The breakfast was really great. Everything was fresh, there was a good variety and the service was friendly. I recommend having breakfast here! I asked the staff to delay my check-out time for an hour and they were glad to do so. The room itself is very well kept and the room is overall welcoming and comfortable. I enjoyed the set up of the bathroom as well. The television is a bit outdated, but overall I really enjoyed my stay here. I did not use toe fitness center nor pool but I wish I would have!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott AFB, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for business for 3 nights. The hotel staff was VERY friendly. Their breakfast was great. There's a small gym (about 3 pieces of cardio equipment), an indoor pool, and washers/dryers. They even give you free laundry soap and dryer sheets. The hotel was nothing fancy or over the top but it was very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Floors 2 and 4 have a washer/dryer at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed for a couple of weeks for business before moved to Hampton Inn.

The facility itself is fine as the hotel is relatively new. However, its staff are not professional and lack of hospitality. Every time when I checked in, front desk lay was at bar to chat with bartender. After seeing me waiting, she would take time to finish her conversation before coming back to front desk. No apology and no greeting.

As platinum elite member, I never received any recognition, or arrival gift. Breakfast costed $9.95 just like everyone else. Overall, staff are indifference, especially breakfast area.

One young gentleman at front desk is exceptional, who deliveries usual Marriott level services. That's why I gave it 2 stars instead of 1.

Also towels are sometimes old with holes and dirty in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In a location near the hospital and still looks brand new after 6 years. Easy to get on and off from I-81. Very friendly and helpful staff. Were told by staff that a restaurant was planned for next door in the future. No restaurant available except for breakfast which was extra. We were able to order in and it was delivered to the bar where we were having a drink after the stress of driving I-81 from PA. Would consider staying there again if traveling I-81.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Address: 300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winchester 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Alleghany and Blue Ridge Mountains the Courtyard by Marriott Winchester Medical Center resides among the areas famous orchards and Civil War Battlefields and is located adjacent to the Winchester Medical Center, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley and Rock Harbor Golf Course. Just a mile from Historic Old Town Winchester and Shenandoah University, we are strategically located to all Winchester-Frederick County area attractions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winchester Hotel Winchester
Courtyard Winchester
Winchester Courtyard
Winchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.