We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pick for Winchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winchester to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% This Summer!
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best pick for Winchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I debated whether to return to Winchester's Holiday Inn Express or the Marriott on my recent trip. Both are nice properties. I was so glad I chose the Marriott; it definitely wins hands down for quiet, comfort, cleanliness, and staff assistance. The HI Express is located near an off ramp from the highway, and traffic noise with trucks downshifting is constant. The Marriott, though conviently located near a highway exit, is incredibly quiet. I had a top floor king with small sofa and desk. What this motel needs are refrigerators in all the rooms! An extra blanket in the wardrobe would be nice, too.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose a top floor room that faces open fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    46
    25
    17
    4
See reviews for
44
45
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our recent stay here was our third in the last four months. Each visit has been very exjoyable. Roomy accommodations. Very helpful staff. Convenient to everything. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davie fl
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Super clean. Staff nice . Having a bar in the lobby is a plus. Surprised at the tiered price for breakfast. Kinda pricey breakfast but was decent. The staff was kind and the pool area was very clean. The rooms are nicely appointed

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here due to convenience to Winchester Medical Center. Got in late and left early so didn't experience anything other than the room. Acceptable, bathroom clean but towels could have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

There are many things to like about this hotel such as its relatively calm location, helpful staff, and breakfast buffet.

This hotel is on the west side of Winchester about 10 minutes from the downtown. The evening front desk clerk gave us a lot of good information on how to get to downtown, where to park, and suggested restaurants. He also had information on which places delivered food to the hotel. He had an upbeat, pleasant personality which we appreciated. We also are grateful to the bartender (and a customer) for helping us open a bottle of wine.

This hotel does have a breakfast buffet that has a reasonable selection of good food. We much prefer this to the new bistro format that is now at so many Courtyards. My husband really liked the made to order eggs. However, don't expect an expansive buffet like at a Florida Courtyard.

However, there are several things about this hotel which show that it isn't run by Marriott (as pointed out on a plaque as you walk in the door). First and foremost, we left our room at 10am one day making sure the Do Not Disturb sign had been removed. We returned at 5pm and the room had not been cleaned. This is not normal for Marriott. The front desk was very apologetic about this and offered to have someone clean our room. We were tired and said we could get by with fresh towels.

Other signals that the hotel isn't run by Marriott include small, thin bath towels, only 2 sets of towels, just 2 water glasses, and no newspapers at breakfast. We'll likely return to this hotel due to the location and staff but will plan accordingly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked a room here for a few days and got upgraded to a HUGE two room suite which was a nice surprise. Very friendly staff, no matter what shift and conveniently located to whatever you're doing in the area (it's Winchester, VA, not Los Angeles. LOL). Ate here for breakfast one morning and was the only one there so was a ghost town and average. Nice staff though. Clean and new property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our room was fine, even seemed a little bigger than some we've stayed in lately. However, the bathroom sliding door had that black mold that sometimes happens in bathrooms and coffee pot with all the fixins was in the bathroom! I would think that there would be some health dept law stating that food or drink should not be in a bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Address: 300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Alleghany and Blue Ridge Mountains the Courtyard by Marriott Winchester Medical Center resides among the areas famous orchards and Civil War Battlefields and is located adjacent to the Winchester Medical Center, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley and Rock Harbor Golf Course. Just a mile from Historic Old Town Winchester and Shenandoah University, we are strategically located to all Winchester-Frederick County area attractions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winchester Hotel Winchester
Courtyard Winchester
Winchester Courtyard
Winchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.