We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our recent stay here was our third in the last four months. Each visit has been very exjoyable. Roomy accommodations. Very helpful staff. Convenient to everything. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
30
36
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
davie fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Super clean. Staff nice . Having a bar in the lobby is a plus. Surprised at the tiered price for breakfast. Kinda pricey breakfast but was decent. The staff was kind and the pool area was very clean. The rooms are nicely appointed

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here due to convenience to Winchester Medical Center. Got in late and left early so didn't experience anything other than the room. Acceptable, bathroom clean but towels could have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

There are many things to like about this hotel such as its relatively calm location, helpful staff, and breakfast buffet.

This hotel is on the west side of Winchester about 10 minutes from the downtown. The evening front desk clerk gave us a lot of good information on how to get to downtown, where to park, and suggested restaurants. He also had information on which places delivered food to the hotel. He had an upbeat, pleasant personality which we appreciated. We also are grateful to the bartender (and a customer) for helping us open a bottle of wine.

This hotel does have a breakfast buffet that has a reasonable selection of good food. We much prefer this to the new bistro format that is now at so many Courtyards. My husband really liked the made to order eggs. However, don't expect an expansive buffet like at a Florida Courtyard.

However, there are several things about this hotel which show that it isn't run by Marriott (as pointed out on a plaque as you walk in the door). First and foremost, we left our room at 10am one day making sure the Do Not Disturb sign had been removed. We returned at 5pm and the room had not been cleaned. This is not normal for Marriott. The front desk was very apologetic about this and offered to have someone clean our room. We were tired and said we could get by with fresh towels.

Other signals that the hotel isn't run by Marriott include small, thin bath towels, only 2 sets of towels, just 2 water glasses, and no newspapers at breakfast. We'll likely return to this hotel due to the location and staff but will plan accordingly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked a room here for a few days and got upgraded to a HUGE two room suite which was a nice surprise. Very friendly staff, no matter what shift and conveniently located to whatever you're doing in the area (it's Winchester, VA, not Los Angeles. LOL). Ate here for breakfast one morning and was the only one there so was a ghost town and average. Nice staff though. Clean and new property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our room was fine, even seemed a little bigger than some we've stayed in lately. However, the bathroom sliding door had that black mold that sometimes happens in bathrooms and coffee pot with all the fixins was in the bathroom! I would think that there would be some health dept law stating that food or drink should not be in a bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, fl
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

except for the lack of a fridge. We always try to stay at Marriott properties for the points, so just found this one as we were driving. The bar was nice and the drinks were perfectly made...they have freshly made popcorn for a snacks gratis.

The complementary computers in the lobby worked well.

Highlight was the pizza we ordered delivered from one of their recommended restaurants...can't remember the name of it but it was some of the best thin crust pizza ever, even though the toppings were $1.50 each...we had sausage, onion & garlic (sounds strange but was great!)

Check in/out was easy...we didn't use the pool...too tired after a long drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winchester

Address: 300 Marriott Drive, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winchester 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Alleghany and Blue Ridge Mountains the Courtyard by Marriott Winchester Medical Center resides among the areas famous orchards and Civil War Battlefields and is located adjacent to the Winchester Medical Center, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley and Rock Harbor Golf Course. Just a mile from Historic Old Town Winchester and Shenandoah University, we are strategically located to all Winchester-Frederick County area attractions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winchester Hotel Winchester
Courtyard Winchester
Winchester Courtyard
Winchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.