We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtfully renovated & plush historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thoughtfully renovated & plush historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

The location is in the historic district of Winchester, which is quaint & clean, if not a little deserted (there were more than a few empty storefronts on Picadilly Street). The area did feel safe on our return walk from dinner.
The hotel is beautiful, and despite being renovated, it has retained many lovely historic details in the lobby & other common areas.
The decor/atmosphere in the bar & restaurant are, unfortunately, a bit generic. I wish they had retained the kind of historic quality that the hallways & lobby have.
Breakfast was fine - we ate in the restaurant, but I noticed that room service prices were also very reasonable.
Our king room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Definitely the high point of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    352
    94
    29
    16
See reviews for
312
503
61
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dale City, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The staff was friendly & efficient. The room was very nice and clean. An excellent value. We wound stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This hotel is everything a historic property should be. The hotel has been sensitively renovated with stunning results! The George Washington exudes old-world charm without pretense. The whole property reflects the character of the original hotel while satisfying the demands of contemporary travelers, right down to the oasis-like pool area.

My daughter and I had breakfast in the restaurant, the Dancing Goat. The food was well-prepared and beautifully presented. The staff was attentive and efficient.

From beginning to end, everyone we encountered at the George Washington behaved with traditional graciousness. This is a place you will not want to leave . . .

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord, ma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stopped by on a whim. One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

My wife and I had been wanting to spend some time at the George Washington after its recent renovation. I have put my parents up at this spot twice in the past 2 years during Winchester's Apple Blossom Festival. They both love it and now my wife and I can say that we love everything about it too. Carrie at the front desk took our last minute reservation and then checked us in a short time later. She was excellent as was the entire staff! We opened the door to our room and found the ice bucket filled and a fresh fruit basket there. This was a big surprise. The room accomadations were comfortable and spacious. The location is one block off the historic walking mall area so there are plenty of good eating spots a short walk away. We hit the Union Jack for appetizers [a recently restored British Pub] and then went to Violino's [Italian] for a late dinner. It was Monday night so a number of other great places were closed like Le Nicoise, Brewbakers, One Block West. There is also a great restaurant in the George Washington called The Dancing Goat. We had breakfast there. The GWs location is perfect because of its proximity to the numerous downtown museums and all the old buildings that ooze history. We look forward to staying at the GW again and it is at the top of our list for recommended places when visitors come to Winchester.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Someone did a great job restoring this historic hotel. There isn't a negative thing I can say about the hotel, it's employees or services. It is convenient to historic Winchester, restaurants and shops. The beds were luxurious! The lounge was beautiful. The restaurant (ate breakfast there only) was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

This is an older hotel that has been very nicely refurbished. My wife and I stayed there during a weekend getaway. The staff was very friendly. There was a loud wedding party going on at the hotel, but the noise did not make it up to the room. The pool and hot tub were great. My big complaint is that the room did not have a bathtub. Whoever did the refurbishing evidently thinks that a shower is enough, which it isn't. The staff should ask people at check in if they want a bathtub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.