We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thing About Winchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thing About Winchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the George Washington Hotel in Winchester not because we wanted to go to Winchester, but because we got a really good deal on Hotwire for what looked like a really nice hotel. The hotel did not disappoint. We got a free upgrade from a queen to a king room just by asking, the service was excellent, and the room was great. The pool was a little small, but very cozy and relaxing, and the feel of the hotel was exactly what we were going for - a very nice, unique upscale hotel. My one complaint was the noisy noisy air conditioning system in the room. It was great that the thermostat was very responsive about turning it on and off, but when it was on, I couldn't hear my wife talking 10 feet away. It also would have been nice to be able to park for free.

But all in all a very pleasant stay. We didn't end up doing a whole lot in Winchester, becasue we enjoyed just staying inside the hotel so much! If we ever get back to Winchester, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    324
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
296
448
57
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

No expense was spared in restoring the George Washington. The lobby, bar and the indoor pool were spectacular. The health club was well eqipped with the latest equipment.

The room had 4.5 star furnishings and amenities. The bedding and the bathroom really stood out. Everything is sparkling clean. The only problem is that the room was much smaller than expected.

Get good directions and follow them closely as the George Washington is difficult to find. You are within walking distance to many restaurants. Avoid the ? Brewery next door. Winchester downtown is a work in progress but provides a nice walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We spent one night at the Winchester following a weekend of backpacking through Shenandoah. We wanted a bit of luxury after back country camping and were especially drawn to the hotel because of it's pool. We checked in on Sunday afternoon and were promptly greated at the door with an offer of valet parking (for a fee of $4 which is also the same price to self-park in the parking garage located behind the hotel) and help with our bags. We opted to park on the street since we needed to access our car several times and were leaving early in the am the following day (street parking is free and seemingly plentiful) on Sundays.

The hotel is lovely, with a large welcoming lobby and inviting, stylish furnishings. We had a king room with a double vanity in the bathroom which proved more than adequate space-wise. The bedding and mattress were great, with super soft sheets and fluffy pillows. The room was clean and quiet (even with it's location next to the ice machine).

We thoroughly enjoyed using the pool and hot tub and found the water temps of both to be quite comfortable. It was also wonderful to have both to ourselves!

Prior to heading out to dinner we enjoyed drinks in the lounge which was quite relaxing. Though we were the only ones in the lounge the bartender told us it gets quite busy on the weekend. I could easily imagine this as it is the sort of place I would enjoy meeting friends were it closer to home.

We did not get to try the hotel's food so I can't comment on that but if you are looking for a bit of afforable luxury on your stay in the Winchest area I would definitely recommend the George Washington.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Spent the weekend with my 15 year old daughter for a short get-a-way at this nice hotel. Greeted immediately, took our bags, got us checked in, escorted to the room, fed details of the place, got us ice, and made sure we were comfortable. Checkin/checkout a breeze. Valet parking a must. $4 per day, so you don't have to park in the garage out back and walk for the same price. Lovely pool and hot tub. Were guided to local excellent eateries, shops, malls, spa, etc. Got web price for the asking. Excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We absolutely loved this hotel! The room was decorated so beautifully and the bathroom with the walk-in shower was gorgeous. As a WyndamByRequest member we had complimentary wine and cheese awaiting us in our room which was just the icing on the cake after flying all day from Seattle. We love this place. The front desk staff were very professional and hospitable, and swiftly took care of a room charge discrepancy I had made in the lounge bar the previous evening. I wish I lived closer so I could escape to the GW at every possible moment. I found the hotel to be exceptional value for money. You couldn't come close to the caliber of this hotel in the Seattle area for anything near the amount we paid for a weeknight stay....you'd easily pay at least 2.5 times as much.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is a real nice property with nice lobby and bar area. Best part is the location. It is 2 minutes away on foot from the Pedestrian mall dotted with restuarants and stores. Unfortunately, with the economy, some of the stores seem to be closing their shutters permanently. Must try...Winchester Thai...very nice thai food. Also nice is Daily Grind coffee with outdoor sitting area. Great place to sit and see the world spin at a very slow speed. Back to the topic of hotel....swimming pool looks better in photo than reality. Also, not particularly attractive for young children as the pool is 5.5 deep and there is no marked gradation. The piano bar with live performance looked attractive, however with little kids we had to stay from all that fun and $1.50 happy hour drinks. The Dancing Goat restuarant inside the hotel is nice but expensive. Our deal came with breakfast coupons. So we lucked out, otherwise it is $15 a pop for breakfast buffet. The rooms are just OK size...it would be nice to have a little bigger rooms...specially if you have 4 to a room. Rooms do not have fridge or microwave...a distinct disadvantage if travelling with small children.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

This is a very nicely renovated older hotel. It almost feels like a new property, but keeps enough of its historical past to still feel grand. Lobby is very fresh, traditional with a modern feel. The lobby bar was closed as we arrived late but was decorated in a modern/contemporary style that was very attractive.

Our room had 2 double beds, with comfortable linens and bedding. The room was a bit monochromatic, bordering on plain, but very large with a LCD TV . All of the furniture, carpet, drapes and finishes were new. Bathroom was also completely new with a granite-topped console sink and good shower/tub. Hallways were also newly renovated but still felt appropriate to a historic hotel.

Breakfast was included in our room rate of $109 on a weeknight. The Dancing Goat restaurant was contemporary in style, breakfast was was good and I felt the prices seemed reasonable. They need to add some signage to help people find the restaurant as it is on the bottom floor, a tag next to the elevator button would help greatly.

Overall I was pleasantly surprised to find such a great hotel in what is a relatively small town. It's rare to find a hotel renovation that has been as thoroughly and tastefully carried out as this one has. (Westin & Sheraton should take notes) Property-wise it felt pretty close to a Ritz-Carlton. I'd definitely stay here again if I was anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.