We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Winchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring Winchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a renovated hotel property that gives the look and feel of once more glamorous time. The rooms are well done and the lobby area and surrounding ballroom, etc are nicely appointed and take you back in time. The parking is a little limited, but they don't charge any more for valet parking as if you self park in their lot. I did valet one evening because their lot was filled and asked the next morning for my car to be brought to the parking lot entrance of the hotel. After a considerable wait I went back into the hotel and spotted my vehicle sitting out front. The music can be a little loud on a weekend night so I would recommend asking for a room on a high floor and away from the bar area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    338
    91
    29
    14
See reviews for
305
479
58
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nellysford, VA
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great service in old world charm. Stately old hotel had modern face lift. Service was great. AtmosPhere was classy and classic.Easy walk to activities in Winchester. The restaurant uPstairs had jazz and the one downstairs had a wonderful meeting room. Parking was convenient.

Room Tip: Shower, not tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Booked a room via online bid site and got it for way less than their advertised rates. The hotel was nice, the snooty little 20-something kid named Keith at the desk was annoying, and the rooms were clean. I'd definitely stay again, but at 100/night or less. No more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a wonderful hotel in this historic little town.
5 STARS!!!
We planned to stay there for one day only, but when we realized what a nice place it is, we stayed for another day.
The location is excellent, right downtown near all the restaurants and historic landmarks.
You can't find a better place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at the George Washington Hotel one night for a wedding. The wedding also took place at the hotel. Being that it is a renovated, but old hotel, the rooms are a little small. However, they have been very nicely renovated. The bathrooms were a good size with double sinks and an oversized tub shower. My parents came with us to keep our 6 month old while my husband and I were at the wedding, so we had ajoining rooms - which is always nice to have when traveling with family. They provided a decent porta-crib for our baby. The beds were very comfortable with new linens. There was a fridge and mircowave in the rooms, which was great, especially travelling with a child.
One of the two elevators was broken while we were there, which made for long waits. The bellman was very helpful with all our bags when we first got there. He hurried right out to the car when we pulled up, which is always welcoming. And our rooms were ready by about 1pm, so we could get ready for the wedding.
The wedding was pretty nice, but I am very judgemental of weddings. The food was just so-so, your typical banquet food. The bars were always opening and closing, which was a little odd. The staff was all pretty helpful and friendly. It definitely seemed like they were well organized, and knew how to put one a nice event.
My parents ate downstairs at the Dancing Goat - the hotel restaurant, and they said it was NOT GOOD. So avoid that, but everything else about this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.