We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Winchester
1 review
“Love the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Love to spend our annual visit to Winchester and would not think of staying anywhere else. Facility is top shelf and the staff exemplify the meaning "Southern Hospitality"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    324
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
296
448
57
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Do not settle for the hotels off 81 treat yourself to this hotel just a couple miles off the interstate. We have been to Winchester for a work project recently and have been staying at a chain hotel. We decided to try this one instead and we were so pleased! You cannot beat the downtown location being able to walk to the great shops and restaurants. It is a neat little town to walk around and this is the perfect place to stay. Lots of history and a beautiful lounge to enjoy. When we come back to Winchester we will be staying here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a great little hotel! I loved the atmosphere and the pool is every bit as lovely and clean as it is in the pictures. The location was convenient and the staff, friendly. The decor is attractive and the hotel clean. Were iit not for a few minor issues, I would have given it the highest ratings. I hope to return next Spring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I are just now winding down our 10th anniversary vacation, and one of our last overnight stays was last night at Winchester, VA's George Washington Hotel. It has been one of the most pleasant stays that either of us have ever spent anywhere.
The George Washington is a part of the Wyndham hotel chain (awarded Best Wyndham of the Year 2011) and is located in the historic downtown of Winchester. It is just a block away from a wonderful pedestrian mall and historic sites are also nearby.
But the highlight to us was the hotel itself. Built in the 1920's and renovated just a few years ago, the GW was one of the first hotels that was built with the safer concrete and steel construction as protection against fire. In an entrance from the rear parking area, a wall display shows some of the many celebrities who have been guests there, such as Lucille Ball, Red Skelton, Bob Hope, and Howard Cosell.
The lobby is beautiful and the professional, Southern hospitality from the front desk staff (including valets) is the best! There is a fine dining restaurant (The Dancing Goat) and a lounge with jazz entertainment (The Half Note). I recommend especially that you order room service breakfast. Yes, it is a little pricey, but very elegant and delicious. We ordered Belgian waffle (with berries and warm maple syrup) and eggs with hash browns, bacon and toast in addition to a large pot of coffee. Delivery was right on time.
The rooms are absolutely beautiful and spotless! Very comfortable sleeping, a wonderful shower in a large elegant bathroom, and even a Roman style swimming pool on the lower level all make this an outstanding place to stay. We just regret that we only stayed one night, but we will return as often as possible.
If you are driving to the DC area from Winchester, we also recommend that you take VA Route 7 East- a beautiful drive through valley and over an easy drive over the Blue Ridge!!
Visit the George Washington Hotel! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: We recommend upper level (we were on the fifth floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Happy anniversary, I'm thrilled you enjoyed your time at our award winning hotel and in beautiful historic old town Winchester. I appreciate your business and all the nice feedback.

Take care and hope you have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.