We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Winter Park, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for just one night on a road trip and wished we would have stayed longer. We checked in late at night and this place was wonderful. The staff is very outgoing and the property is immaculate. It is a historic hotel so it is nice to see how well it is kept up and all of the antiques throughout it. We had a room with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub and it was such a comfortable room with a decent amount of space. The view from all the windows was of the historic town which was charming. The bed was extremely comfortable. I wish we had more time to spend at the indoor pool, as it looked very inviting. We ordered room service right before breakfast ended and they accommodated us and everything was delish! We will return to this hotel for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    302
    78
    26
    10
See reviews for
269
416
52
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work last month. Part of an event and had a group rate. Expected little but got a lot. Nice big clean rooms. Great lobby. Good breakfasts in restaurant. Cool pool, decent gym. Pleasant helpful staff. Fun bar. Parking was easy. Right downtown. Coming back for the event next year and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at the George Washington hotel for one night as part of our road trip. It's an older hotel but is well kept; the lobby is nice and the rooms and bathroom are nice sized and very clean. The beds were comfortable, and we had a mini frig and microwave in the room. They had a nice bar in the hotel and a restaurant (in the basement, I think - we didn't eat there). There was a terrace-like area on the side of the building and it looked very inviting.

This hotel is about a block away from the pedestrian mall where there are shops, restaurants and bars, but everything closed at 6-7:00 p.m.(we had arrived in Winchester about 5:45 p.m.) and some stores weren't open at all. We later heard from people that this part of town shuts down early or doesn't open at all on Mondays, and we were there on a Monday. The hotel was really nice but the real reason we visited Winchester was to visit the shops/restaurants at the pedestiran mall, but as I stated they were closed, but we walked down the deserted mall anyway. There is construction going on in that area, also.

Again, this is a really nice hotel within easy walking distance to the quaint down town pedestrian mall. We had to go out of the historic area to find a restaurant to eat; there were plenty in that area. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but if you want to shop/eat/drink at the mall area, be sure and call ahead and see which days the mall owners are open.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is clean and quiet, and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the bed was too soft for my liking. I would highly recommend staying here. Winchester is a charming town to explore. We had breakfast and lunch at The Dancing Goat restaurant located in the basement of the hotel. The oyster soup and peanut soup were both very good.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guest and I appreciate your feedback.

Lots of great events happening this summer, hope to see you again.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.