We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for just one night on a road trip and wished we would have stayed longer. We checked in late at night and this place was wonderful. The staff is very outgoing and the property is immaculate. It is a historic hotel so it is nice to see how well it is kept up and all of the antiques throughout it. We had a room with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub and it was such a comfortable room with a decent amount of space. The view from all the windows was of the historic town which was charming. The bed was extremely comfortable. I wish we had more time to spend at the indoor pool, as it looked very inviting. We ordered room service right before breakfast ended and they accommodated us and everything was delish! We will return to this hotel for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    368
    103
    29
    18
See reviews for
333
537
64
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work last month. Part of an event and had a group rate. Expected little but got a lot. Nice big clean rooms. Great lobby. Good breakfasts in restaurant. Cool pool, decent gym. Pleasant helpful staff. Fun bar. Parking was easy. Right downtown. Coming back for the event next year and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at the George Washington hotel for one night as part of our road trip. It's an older hotel but is well kept; the lobby is nice and the rooms and bathroom are nice sized and very clean. The beds were comfortable, and we had a mini frig and microwave in the room. They had a nice bar in the hotel and a restaurant (in the basement, I think - we didn't eat there). There was a terrace-like area on the side of the building and it looked very inviting.

This hotel is about a block away from the pedestrian mall where there are shops, restaurants and bars, but everything closed at 6-7:00 p.m.(we had arrived in Winchester about 5:45 p.m.) and some stores weren't open at all. We later heard from people that this part of town shuts down early or doesn't open at all on Mondays, and we were there on a Monday. The hotel was really nice but the real reason we visited Winchester was to visit the shops/restaurants at the pedestiran mall, but as I stated they were closed, but we walked down the deserted mall anyway. There is construction going on in that area, also.

Again, this is a really nice hotel within easy walking distance to the quaint down town pedestrian mall. We had to go out of the historic area to find a restaurant to eat; there were plenty in that area. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but if you want to shop/eat/drink at the mall area, be sure and call ahead and see which days the mall owners are open.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is clean and quiet, and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the bed was too soft for my liking. I would highly recommend staying here. Winchester is a charming town to explore. We had breakfast and lunch at The Dancing Goat restaurant located in the basement of the hotel. The oyster soup and peanut soup were both very good.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We enjoyed having you as our guest and I appreciate your feedback.

Lots of great events happening this summer, hope to see you again.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.8 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#12 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.