We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away in Winchester, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    320
    81
    28
    13
See reviews for
290
442
56
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is an old hotel that was built in the 1920s and was top notch. When we first learned of it it was an adult home and had fallen into disrepair. Sometime during the 2000s it was renovated and now stands as one of the finer if not finest hotel in Winchester. It is a complete service hotel. Features a nice lounge, restaurant, give shop, indoor pool, hot tub, and other amenities. We did not realize that Winchester is a "golfing destination" and brings a lot of visitors. Nevertheless, we were there to celebrate a friends birthday and spent the night. The rooms were large, clean and well maintained. The front desk and staff were extremely helpful. The lounge was comfortable and reasonable. It is conveniently located so you can walk downtown. Bottom line - if you are going to be in the north end of the Shenandoah Valley don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Geo. Wash. Hotel. A Grand place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at our award winning Wyndham Grand Hotel. I appreciate your business and the nice comments.

Thank you and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The reason for our stay was relaxation. Our boys were on Spring break and they wanted to go to a hotel and get room service, swim in a pool and have cable TV. Simple pleasures for our boys. We had a fabulous stay and made wonderful memories with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Great to hear you and your boys had a great visit. I'm so glad you stayed with us and I appreciate your business and the nice feedback.

Thank you and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a lovely historic hotel in a quaint little area of town. The customer service is excellent, the rooms are decorated beatuifully, pool area is gorgous! The location is great walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Be advised though, the spa and main dining area are closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in the Winchester area. I appreciate your business and the feedback. You are correct as of now our spa is closed on Sundays and we are only serving dinner in the Half Note Lounge on Sunday evenings. Sunday dinner menu does include burgers, ribs, chicken, steak , salads etc...

Enjoy your summer, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.