We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    330
    84
    29
    14
See reviews for
301
461
58
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a lucky upgrade to a suite because the hotel was overbooked, so that made our stay even better. The hotel public areas are very clean and stylish. The recent renovation was well-done. Our suite was clean and very quiet. The front desk staff were wonderful and the checkout process was very sleek. We forgot swimsuits so couldn't enjoy the pool or hot tub, alas. We didn't eat there, preferring to enjoy eateries on the pedestrian mall. I hope we can stay there again on a next trip to Winchester! Nice job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice well-kept hotel if you can sleep with all the noise from next door and the ball room. We checked in on Saturday and had a great time in Old Winchester. Got back to the hotel to find that they were setting up for someone’s birthday party in the ball room. We were on the 2nd floor and the noise level from the party and the rooms next door was so bad we checked out at 10:30 that evening. We first called the front desk at 9:15 and were told that the party would be over at 10:00. At 10:15 I went down to the front desk and was informed that the party would end at 11:00 and that there was nothing they could do about the noise. “The room was booked until 11:00 and the hotel is full” was the response along with an apology as well as a manager’s name to call the next day as none were on duty.

This will be out last time at either the Hotel or the “Dancing Goat” which is their restaurant was mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Don't go but if you must get a room away from the Ballroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We love the G.W. and always stay there when we are traveling south as we love the cleanliness, ambiance and friendliness. We love the location because we can walk to the pedestrian walkway and have happy hour and dinner and shop conveniently.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great Hotel with super location. The rooms were great and the staff very friendly. Food was marginal at best and service very slow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is really nice and the room and bathroom were nice. One problem, in our room we kept hearing something that sounded like a large pipe being hit. We were by the utility room, but it was so loud that I could not sleep. When I did sleep it wake me up. The continental breakfast was also a little light.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Groupon, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.