We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Getaway between kids sports seasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Taneytown
1 review
“Quick Getaway between kids sports seasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just needed a weekend trip to get away for the two of us with no particular objective in mind. The place was very nice and there were plenty of things to do within walking distance. Winchester's "main street" road was under construction but the shops were still open. Ate all out meals at the hotel and the food was good and reasonably priced, the hotel was clean, the one drawback is that the TV was not very good (no HD) that was important to us but not enough of a drawback that we wouldnt go again. We did not go to pool, hot tub or spa. The furnishings were all fine with a huge exception the bed footposts stuck out so far past the mattress (by design) that we both hit our feet/stubbed our toes multiple times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    296
    78
    26
    10
See reviews for
262
408
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
OK/TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I came up here one night on a LivingSocial voucher, and it is a really lovely historical hotel. We did not use the on-site restaurant or spa, but enjoyed walking around the nearby walking mall in downtown Winchester. Parking is only $5/night or free on the streets during weekends. I also highly recommend the Alamo Drafthouse cinema, it's one of the reasons we like to go to Winchester.
Cozy but spacious rooms and really nice showers make this hotel feel like a luxury getaway for a decent price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is an excellent blend of a history lesson and modern comforts. My husband and I stayed overnight in one of the Junior Suites for Valentine's Day and can't wait to stay again. The hotel is conveniently located within a block of the historic walking mall and a wide variety of locally owned restaurants, pubs, and speciality shops. The ambiance inside the hotel and friendly staff made us feel like special guests. And the bathroom... AMAZING! I think I could have just spent my entire stay inside the bathroom. Between the luxurious shower and spacious CLEAN jacuzzi, my husband and I spent lots of time discussing the idea of creating an exact replica in our home. During our stay, there were only 3 minor items of note: A) the towel warming rack only seemed to heat when the jacuzzi was in use and not the shower; B) the sitting area chairs and couch, while very clean, showed a little more wear and tear than I expected, but that could be chalked up to the historical flavoring; and C) the in-room fireplace was immediately childlocked once turned on, and I had to call the front desk for directions to turn it off because no instructions were located in the room. The front desk answered on the first ring and promptly helped me with the issue - they didn't need to send anyone up or put me on hold to figure out the answer. On the way to dinner, I needed a safety pin to fix a wardrobe malfunction and the ladies at the desk immediately came to my rescue, smiling and laughing and carrying a pleasant conversation with my husband and me the entire time. Oh, and did I mention breakfast in The Dancing Goat was spectacular? The atmosphere was quiet, our nook table was cozy, and the creme brulee French toast (my choice cheat - I happened to be on a diet) was worth every yummy calorie!

Overall, the hotel is fantastic and the service impeccable. After other questionable service in the area, I continue to appreciate the value of pleasant and competent employees of the George Washington Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff. Provided early checkin. Centrally located. Really liked the dual vanities, Lots of counter space that is lacking in most hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is well managed. The staff are amenable & very helpful. Good location. Parking is $5/day, which I find unacceptable for such a high dollar hotel in Winchester, VA. The free wireless internet leaves much room for improvement. Since it is available, I suggest that you bring a data cord & plug in directly to the hotel server. Hotel cleanliness is to be commended & unusual for most hotels. Accidentally, I discovered that the HVAC closet in my room was left unlocked. The door had louvers for air circulation for the machinery. Inside the closet was a completely filled air filter & MUCH dust and dirt on the floor & door louvers. I reported same & the defect was promptly remedied. Heating system is less than satisfactory. When it cycles on, the first 3 minutes or so is cold air. Noisy. Swimming pool area is very nice. Not designed for swimming Has a hot tub which I did not use.The room hallways are very noisy, but this is due to inconsiderate people. Room doors & stairwell doors SLAM shut & are disturbing. Workout room is acceptable. If you desire exercise, I recommend walking in the area as it is safe clean & interesting. Had Sunday brunch buffet at the Dancing Goat Restaurant, located within the hotel. Food & price were unacceptable. I would not stay at this hotel again, Even though it is nice, it is too expensive for what you get in return for the dollars spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.