We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little different from the usual "chain" hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A little different from the usual "chain" hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I just got back from an overnight stay at The George Washington Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. It has been very nicely renovated - our room was a good good size and the bathroom and shower were excellent. We ate in the bar in the evening and the barman, Justin, could not have been more helpful and pleasant. My only small niggle was that there was music in the bar in the evening which we could hear in our room which was immediately above. However, it was my era of music and so was not unpleasant and finished early enough not to keep me awake. We had breakfast in the Dancing Goat in the morning - tasty but the poor waitress was very busy trying to keep up with everyone - they need more help. Overall it was a very pleasant stay, right downtown and everybody we encountered was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor and were immediately above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I appreciate your business and the feedback. I'm so glad you did enjoy the music and yes they do finish around 10PM. We actually only have music on Fri & Sat so we do not disturb any of our corp guests on the weekdays. I will also get with my food & beverage team to make sure we are scheduling correctly in the Dancing Goat.

Thank you again and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    352
    93
    29
    15
See reviews for
312
499
60
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Callaway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a grand old hote;. The next room had 2 different groups pf people in 2 nights.. They weren't trying to be terribly loud, but you cpuld distinguish every word they said. I don't know if all the rooms have this problem, but maybe we were given this room since we obtained a lower rate thru Living Social. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. I also appreciate your feedback good and bad. I'm so sorry you could hear your neighbors, I'll have my engineer take a look to see if there may be something we can do.

Once again I'm sorry for your issues and if you decide to give our award winning property another try in the future I would be happy to make your reservation personally.

I can be reached at dcavallaro@wyndham.com.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Update to my earlier review of this hotel. Please see it for some background on me. I just want to take this opportunity to congratulate the staff at the George Washington on winning the coveted Wyndham Hotel of the year for 2011. I'm not surprised, as this is one of the finest staffs, especially the front desk team, I've had the pleasure of encountering. Really, the soul of any hotel is it's staff, they are what set a superior hotel apart. I'm always greeted with a big smile and a friendly hello. It's like I'm being greeted by family. Carrie, Carla, Pat and Lacey are truly a wonderful group and again I say thank you for always demonstrating such kindness, caring and professionalism. I want to say special thanks to Eliza. I almost always receive a call from her fifteen or twenty minutes after I check in asking if everything is alright with my room, and if there's anything else that I need. This is service above and beyond the call of duty, by a hard working, wonderful young lady. My wife and daughter (who's a student at The George Washington University in DC) have joined me for several of my stays and I think they like the hotel more than I. I've read some of the recent reviews and in regard to some of the things that people find fault in, I don't, Five or six dollars for downtown parking is extremely reasonable. The hotel that reminds me most of the George is the Fairmont in DC where parking is forty five dollars a night. The George Washington is a unique hotel built during the roaring twenties and it exudes elegance. If the walls could talk there'd be some stories to be told here. There's no parking charges at a Hampton or Holiday Inn next to a freeway, It just depends on what you're looking for in your hotel experience. You can't compare apples to oranges. Room service is offered from the in house Dancing Goat restaurant, and after a day of airline travel the peace and quiet of in room dining is a welcome treat. I had the half rack of ribs there this week with a fruit plate side that was out of this world. I'm including a photo with this review. I also want to praise the housekeeping staff on a job well done. My housekeeper this week was Renee who did an excellent job. The high standards of the housekeeping department was further evident when Elena, a supervisor, showed up early in the afternoon to double check that everything was perfect. Once again, I love this hotel, it's downtown location and everyone that makes it so great. Thanks, Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mike, thank you so much for all the kind words, it means a lot to us. I'm so glad my team has delivered on our core values, Be Responsive, Be Respectful, and Deliver Great Experiences.

We love having you as our guest and I hope to see you again soon.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for one night on a recent business trip. It is a great value considering the overall quality of the facility. The breakfast room service was abysmal, however, and that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I appreciate your business and your comments, good and bad. I'm so sorry your breakfast experience was not a good one. I would love to talk about your service if you would like I can be reached at dcavallaro@wyndham.com

Thank you and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.