We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The George Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    289
    74
    26
    10
See reviews for
257
402
48
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the minute we arrived at the hotel until checkout, we were impressed with the level of attentiveness and friendliness of the staff. A beautiful hotel, well kept & welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to casual personal travelers and business travelers alike, with the convenient location, cleanliness, variety.....a perfect home away from home when in the Winchester area. Our travels brought us to the hotel for a wedding, which provided an even more indepth experience as the entire weekend was fairy tale like, b/c of the George Washington Hotels attention to details, service, providing amazing foods, decor, and ambiance for such an occasion......a true 1st class experience from arrival to departure that we are sure to be talking about for years to come., we will most certainly as stay at the George Washington Hotel in the future and yes we will be, advising all friends family and readers of this review that if they are looking for a 1st class hotel experience then the George Washington Hotel is for them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the George Washington many time & LOVE it. Its a beautiful place with a wonderful staff.
So when we started planning our wedding we knew we wanted it there. WOW what a great job the hotel staff did!! . They made the wedding day less stressful for me, knowing they would take care of everything.Not only was it beautiful, you set up everything just as planned. All our guest we treated wonderful. You guys were first class! We had everyone tell us they had such a great time, how beautiful the hotel was & how great of a job ALL the staff did.. Thank you for making our wedding flow smoothly & everyone be treated so nice! Definitely a 5 star rating from us!! We recommend the GW hotel to all our friends & family & anyone wanting a great place to stay with wonderful staff!
Thanks again,
Natalia Johnson

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Congratulations!

I'm so glad you were able to experience our Grand Ballroom on your special day. I appreciate your business and all your nice comments, I'll be sure to pass them on to my team. All of us from the George Washington wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We use this Hotel for our business stays quite often and it is the first hotel in the community we recommend to new visitors. The location represents the premier spot in town and the service and facilities are always impeccable. The restaurant downstairs (The Dancing Goat) is so convenient and the food is great, it's really tempting to just stay there verses venturing out into downtown.

When it came time to plan our recent wedding, there was no quesiton of where we wanted to hold the wedding and reception. Suzi and Jane were absolutely wonderful in helping us secure a date and make full plans for the wedding. All the staff at the George Washington Hotel provided us a truly wonderful and memorable wedding. We honestly could not have asked for better service or a better experience. The few minor hiccups we had were so quickly resolved and negligible that they had absolutely no bearing on the outcome; and are tough to even remember because they are simply outshined by everything that went so perfectly.

We have entertained so many compliments about the wedding from our friends and family; they have said how gorgeous the hotel/property is, how wonderful the food was, how smoothly everything flowed and how relaxed the atmosphere was, yet with great service. Everyone had an exceptional time. We can’t thank the staff enough and truly appreciate them creating such a wonderful memory for us.

I would recommend this hotel to any traveler (or even those local) who are looking for a first class experience in beautiful downtown Winchester.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Congratulations!

I'm thrilled you were able to experience our Grand Ballroom on your very special day. I appreciate your business and all the nice comments. The sales team and I wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Take care and enjoy the holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.