We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum, loud staff member” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington's Office Museum

Washington's Office Museum
32 W. Cork St, Winchester, VA
540/662-4412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Attractions in Winchester
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
881 reviews 881 reviews
424 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Excellent museum, loud staff member”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was so excited to see this museum with my husband and visiting parents, and while the museum is excellently researched and laid out, the staff member working that day was rude, loud, and bothersome. She really put a damper on our visit, speaking so loudly it was hard to concentrate and read the literature. I want to recommend this museum because it is interesting and involves a critical time period in American history that seems to get downplayed, but I struggle with that because of the woman who works there. Go, but be warned.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very small in size but very big on information.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We almost passed this place by because of the $5.00 entrance fee.

The place is authentic and it is small but it is very well done.

Glad we spent the time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Well done but very small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We took the quick tour of Washington's Office yesterday and it was very well done. The entire museum is just two small rooms so plan to spend 30 minutes at most. We read everything and we were done in about 20. The exhibits they had were very well done and informative though. It was a great, quick stop and I recommend it to see another side of Washington we don't hear too much about!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“OK Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived at this location with high hopes. It is a very small structure and doesn't take long to see. The attendant was very talkative, almost to the point of being distractive, so we opted for the self guided tour. There were some interesting tidbits of information about Washington, but all in all, this was not the caliber of tour we were expecting. This will only take an hour at best. Although it was cool to be in a structure George Washington used, I wish we had toured one of the other museums instead.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A bit of Pittsburgh :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We learned a great deal about George Washington from the docent. He was quite informative. He shared personal stories which made the tour all the more enjoyable. When we mentioned that we were from Pittsburgh, he shared a few personal accounts. I so enjoy hearing such stories :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington's Office Museum also viewed

 

Been to Washington's Office Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington's Office Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.