We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the building alone makes it worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Handley Regional Library

Handley Regional Library
Picadilly St, Winchester, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Attractions in Winchester
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
“Just the building alone makes it worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful building, and people who work there have always been very helpful to me. My kids and wife are members and get their books here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“I love the Handley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

When I lived in WV this was my place to visit for books. I am glad to see that it is still going strong.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“genealogy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The library has a individual room dedicated to genealogy research. Quiet and staff more than willing to assist in your search. Did I mention no admission charge and low cost for reproductions. Great place to search local and state genealogy.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you've never been to Handley Library, you need to go at least one time. It's awe-inspiring and an example of architecture that has long passed. It was renovated awhile ago and is in beautiful shape.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
240 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
898 helpful votes 898 helpful votes
“Iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This beaux arts building clearly defines the skyline of Winchester and rightly so. It stands out among blocks of colonial architecture downtown. It is just as remarkable and well maintained inside as it is outside.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handley Regional Library also viewed

 

Been to Handley Regional Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handley Regional Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.