We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, once again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Wallkill, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent experience, once again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have stayed at this location for a number of years when in the Winchester area. This time we were staying at a different hotel as our daughter had booked our stay. Unfortunately, that hotel was remodeling and the new carpet gave off a chemical smell which caused my husband to have an allergic reaction. He was up most of the night and we had to leave very early in the morning. We were charged full price, in spite of our predicament. I called the Holiday Inn Express, told them the story, and we arrived at dawn. They did not charge us for the previous night even though we checked in very early. They welcomed us and got a room ready for us. We stayed the next two nights and had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, comfortable, and well taken care of. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was hot and enjoyable. The hotel is in close proximity to stores and places to eat. The Holiday Inn Express is an excellent choice for a hotel in Winchester!!

Room Tip: Beautifully renovated rooms throughout the hotel........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay here in Winchester, VA. We are very happy that you liked the renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    39
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
54
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Made the reservation on line with a site that has a list of my requests. Had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express but the price was right as was the location off Interstate 81. It was a 7 mile drive from the interstate but very easy to find. The hotel is newly renovated and the rooms were quite large and spotless with new furnishings. The reception desk staff on our arrival and departure were very efficient and friendly and my reservation was ready and the room was exactly as required. We travel this route quite frequently to visit family and will use this hotel in future rather than where we normally stay. Breakfast was excellent and all items were constantly replenished. Thank you for a pleasant stay after a long drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here in Winchester, VA. We are so happy you chose our hotel and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A relaxing trip for my husband and me and our two pre teen grandchildren. The buffet breakfast was far better than most hotels and very satisfying especially for the tweens as children can be picky eaters. Very clean and most pleasant and accommodating staff. A convenient location with nearby restaurants and grocery stores. Will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such a nice review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with your grandchildren. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were traveling on Interstate 81 and the HIE was seven miles away. It was worth the drive! What a nice place! The remodel is almost complete. The front desk clerk (Anna, I think) was extremely helpful and friendly. The new guy (trainee Steadman) was very helpful, too. The hotel was spotless, breakfast was better than the average HIE, which are pretty good at most.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us and your feelings about our staff. We take great pride in the service and product we provide and hope that we will be your lodging choice the next time you are in the Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Pros: usual holiday inn express breakfast fare, clean room, toiletries in bathroom, good selection of tv channels, clean but overly chlorinated pool/whirlpool area. Helpful reception staff. Comfy beds, plenty of towels.

Cons: no condiments at b'fast (no ketchup/cream cheese), pancake maker broken) Arby's and Sheetz are feet away. Glass windows surrounding pool and whirlpool isn't shaded so sorta felt on display while in both from the Arby's drive thru and gas station customers at night.

Use the VA travel coupon to save at check in but can't use it if you call ahead. Better savings than if we used our AAA discount!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello!
I am very sorry you felt our location was poor. We feel that we are off the beaten path but worth the drive! You are the first person to mention the windows at the pool and that it made you feel uncomfortable. I will certainly take that under advisement, perhaps pull down shade would be an option at night. I am glad the beds were comfortable and that your room was clean.
We hope that you will choose us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had made the commitment to Holiday Inn Express as our hotel of choice for traveling for business and pleasure but after our most recent experience we are done! The hotel is being remodeled and will most likely be nice once completed. Unfortunately we arrived late, after midnight, and the work was being performed as we were trying to check-in. Since it was late we brought everything in with us so as to not have to go back outside in the dark. After checking in we were invited to go back out and walk through the parking lot, with all our stuff, and enter the hotel at the other end of the building so as not to interrupt the workers.

We had made our reservation on-line and after beginning our trip read on this review site that there were coupons available for a substantial discount. I called and spoke with "someone" at the front desk who stated they were not sure but they would check. After "someone" checked with "someone else" the okay was given to be able to use the coupon. We made a special stop to acquire the coupon and arrived with it. The late night desk person said they would attach it to our bill and in the morning it would be taken care of. In the morning it was rejected! And we were told that even if we could have used it we couldn't because they had a bus come in with a group and so no coupons were being accepted!

Top it off with a broken pancake machine at breakfast and being "out" of cinnamon rolls!

Thanks HIE, we'll go where someone actually wants our business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear PWSC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the hotel's coupon policy prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a meeting. Misty was great. Good time. Meeting room good . breakfasts were great. The staff helped us all the way. Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood. Greatttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
GREAT is certainly a word we love to hear from our customers. I am very happy that you were pleased with your lodging choice and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Address: 142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.