We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location but decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor location but decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Pros: usual holiday inn express breakfast fare, clean room, toiletries in bathroom, good selection of tv channels, clean but overly chlorinated pool/whirlpool area. Helpful reception staff. Comfy beds, plenty of towels.

Cons: no condiments at b'fast (no ketchup/cream cheese), pancake maker broken) Arby's and Sheetz are feet away. Glass windows surrounding pool and whirlpool isn't shaded so sorta felt on display while in both from the Arby's drive thru and gas station customers at night.

Use the VA travel coupon to save at check in but can't use it if you call ahead. Better savings than if we used our AAA discount!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello!
I am very sorry you felt our location was poor. We feel that we are off the beaten path but worth the drive! You are the first person to mention the windows at the pool and that it made you feel uncomfortable. I will certainly take that under advisement, perhaps pull down shade would be an option at night. I am glad the beds were comfortable and that your room was clean.
We hope that you will choose us again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    45
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
57
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had made the commitment to Holiday Inn Express as our hotel of choice for traveling for business and pleasure but after our most recent experience we are done! The hotel is being remodeled and will most likely be nice once completed. Unfortunately we arrived late, after midnight, and the work was being performed as we were trying to check-in. Since it was late we brought everything in with us so as to not have to go back outside in the dark. After checking in we were invited to go back out and walk through the parking lot, with all our stuff, and enter the hotel at the other end of the building so as not to interrupt the workers.

We had made our reservation on-line and after beginning our trip read on this review site that there were coupons available for a substantial discount. I called and spoke with "someone" at the front desk who stated they were not sure but they would check. After "someone" checked with "someone else" the okay was given to be able to use the coupon. We made a special stop to acquire the coupon and arrived with it. The late night desk person said they would attach it to our bill and in the morning it would be taken care of. In the morning it was rejected! And we were told that even if we could have used it we couldn't because they had a bus come in with a group and so no coupons were being accepted!

Top it off with a broken pancake machine at breakfast and being "out" of cinnamon rolls!

Thanks HIE, we'll go where someone actually wants our business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear PWSC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the hotel's coupon policy prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a meeting. Misty was great. Good time. Meeting room good . breakfasts were great. The staff helped us all the way. Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood. Greatttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
GREAT is certainly a word we love to hear from our customers. I am very happy that you were pleased with your lodging choice and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Weekend getaway to visit Old town Winchester. Standard HI experience. Nice rooms, good complimentary breakfast and indoor pool with hot tub which we had to ourselves both evenings. Very nice staff also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for the really nice comments regarding our staff and the hotel. We take great pride in the service and product we provide and it is nice to hear our customers are happy.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly, quiet and reasonable! They are in the midst of renovation, but that is not an issue in any way. Fast, courteous check in. The AARP and Internet rate was $113, but with the coupon I picked up at the Virginia welcome rest area, it was $74. Great value!! Room was very clean, and quiet with a great shower, TV, and free internet. Fridge and microwave in the room if you need it. Breakfast was typical HI, but hot and many choices. It is about 5 minutes off of 81 and very close to an Arby's and a Sheetz gas. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the great comments regarding your stay with us here in Winchester, VA. I am so happy that you found everything that you needed close by and that the service and product were what you expected.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We were on our way South from Canada and this was our first stop. We got a decent rate with a voucher from the Welcome Center. The room was clean and nice. ok breakfast. A reasonable standard Holiday Inn.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We do hope that you felt you received a value in the room. The coupon rate is an excellent rate! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is undergoing renovations... That said, I booked a non-smoking room. Clearly some who had previously stayed in this room had smoked and the staff had plugged in an electric room deodorizer in an attempt to cover up the smoking. The odor from this device was excessively sweet and over powering. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the hotel offered a decent breakfast. I probably should've asked for a different room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear ChasM8,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Winchester, VA. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the room we placed you in. We would of been more than happy to move you to a room that did not smell like smoke. Otherwise, I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of the room and the breakfast offerings. Please keep us in mind for future stays in the area. We are positive you will enjoy the changes we are making during our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Address: 142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.