We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Winchester
La Crescent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Family weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a 2-day weekend stay. The staff was very helpful. The room was excellent (on the 2nd floor). Breakfast was very good with a wide selection. Quiet, clean and comfortable. We did not try the pool or fitness room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review you posted regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are very happy that you were pleased with your choice to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    36
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
52
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel is located in an area surrounded by retail locations. It is at the intersection of US Rt 522 and VA Rt 37 (A four lane divided highway that serves as a by-pass around Winchester). With that in mind, I can say that it is in a quiet atmosphere. Room 321.

Using online booking & a special rate, I was able to have a room for $75/day plus all of the usual fees & taxes. One thing that I have not experienced at any hotel is that they charge you the full price of the room (stayed 5 days) up front & advise you that if you must check out earlier than planned, it will take 7-10 days for you to receive your refund.

Hotel is clean in all areas. It has three floors, none of which have a “view.” The room is rectangular shaped with HVAC at one end of room & the bathroom at the other end. The bathroom has no heat! It is a comfortable room with all of your usual necessities. In- room movies give you a good selection, but they are expensive. An indoor pool is small & doesn’t open until 0900. It is inviting though. Exercise room is typical for a hotel this size. Several machines, a work-out bench and free-weights.

The breakfast area is your typical Holiday Inn Express eating area. Not much in the way of healthy eating, but sufficient for most people.

Staff are friendly & helpful.

Wireless & wired internet access available with daily access code. Code Changes once per week on Sundays. Service was acceptable most hours of the day. I’m just spoiled because I have such good speeds at home!

Stairwells clean. Stairwell doors slam shut. Slow draining shower/bathtub. More than adequate number of electrical recepticles

Downtown Winchester is easy to get to via several routes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in our hotel. I was very impressed with you review as you commented on every area of the hotel. It seemed to me that you were pleased with your choice to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After arriving after camping all weekend at a reenactment, this place was a wonderful surprise. Great service at the front desk, clean lobby and hallways. Room was super clean and extremely comfortable, clean large bathroom. Nice and quiet sleep. Free breakfast was pretty good, I loved the pancake maker, food was replenished and area was kept very clean. Upon checkout, we got a friendly "thank you for staying". Overall very very impressed. This will be the only place we stay when in the Winchester area. Great job!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for the wonderful comments you made about our hotel!. Our staff takes great pride in the service and product we provide and are very happy you were pleased with your choice to stay with us.
October is a very busy month for us and work really hard in all departments to keep the hotel in good shape. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and the one most often skipped. We feel our breakfast is an excellent value and are happy you were satisfied with the selections. We look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived on Friday evening and check-in was a breeze. Since I'm a Gold member, we were also offered water and a snack. The room was large with extra chairs and a couch for comfort. Everything was very clean, bed was comfortable. The breakfasts had enough of a variety as well. Conveniently located around other stores, restaurants, etc. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Of course the in room internet is always welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for a taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you were pleased with the accomodations. The benefits of the IHG Rewards program are amazing and I am please to know that you are among the more thatn 71 million members! . We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staff is friendly. Room was OK. Hotel location is good. Room location is horrible. Stayed in room 110 overnight on Sat to Sunday. Room is across from the pool... Tried to change rooms and was told it was the only one available.

Room smelled of chorine and having a late night Saturday I was looking forward to sleeping in on Sunday. Starting at 10am-ish people kept slamming the door to the pool. Over and over and over. No sleeping in for me. Also toilet seat was looking kind of gross (rusted, stained, etc). Would consider staying at this location again given a different room away from the pool and fixed bathroom.

Room Tip: Not room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Iconick,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the location of your room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We have shared your feedback with our staff and are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After an 11 hr trip looking for a nice quiet place to stay. The staff was very friendly and pleasant to deal with. Check in very fast, quiet hotel. We were a little disappointed that the mattress was pretty worn. Having a bad back, coupled with a long drive, made this a problem. The hot breakfast foods were a little on the dry side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MichaelG5858,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to know that our staff was friendly and you had an efficient check-in experience. I apologize if the mattress and breakfast was a disappointment.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area you will give our hotel another try so we can show you our improvements.

Kind Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived here after a 10 hour drive. Check in was very fast and efficient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and the free breakfast was better than expected. Free wifi was great as well. We actually booked this hotel for our return trip home as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule to post a review about our hotel. Making sure you are pleased with the accomodations and the amenties is our #1 priority and return customers ensure our job security! We are very happy you were pleased and look forward to your return trip to Winchester.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn
Address: 142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.