We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokeless, professional and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smokeless, professional and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

En route from Myrtle Beach to Ontario, Canada, we stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Winchester, VA. The hotel is reasonably priced, with clean rooms and facilities, helpful service and no lingering cigarette smoke odours.
The location is right off the highway, and about five minutes from the historical downtown area. So it's easy to check out a little history, sample the local restaurants and be back on your way the next morning.
We had good intentions to use the pool and hot tub - which looked clean and inviting - but after more than 8 hours on the road, felt too tired to use them. Next time, perhaps.
The included breakfast offers good quality and choices, in a comfortable setting.
One small complaint - we asked for advice on dining, and were directed to the old downtown - an easy 5-minute drive from the hotel. What they didn't tell us is that the 18th-century village square in under serious construction. It looked like Union artillery had laid waste to the area in an attempt to rout Stonewall Jackson's confederates. It made it tough to navigate, as well as killing the town's charm. Wish we'd known in advance.
Apparently it's all going to be ready, however, for Winchester's upcoming Cherry Blossom Festival. So plan on a spring visit and experience the best of Winchester.

Room Tip: Second floor, facing the front - quiet, non-smoking. The higher numbers are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Camlev77,

Thank you for such wonderful comments about our hotel. We know when traveling you have so many choices and we thank you for choosing us! We are very happy that you were pleased with the accomodates as well as the complimentary breakfast.
I do apologize that we did not inform you of the construction in downtown. This is a VERY large undertaking but we are convident that it will enhance your experience next time you are in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
54
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Claremont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It was a half way stop for our trip. The hotel was an easy on and off from the freeway. The furnishings were nice, comfortable beds but the pillows were small and not so comfy. The restaurant was good. It was nice to not get back in the car and find a place to eat.

Room Tip: Pillows are small and not too comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed here every Christmas since it opened. Each year there is a decline. Here is what happened this year... The mattress pad was ripped to non existence on the side part which holds the pad to each corner of the mattress. Really? The maid would not have noticed that when changing sheets? Since the sheets are the same type sheets used since the beginning it is actually hard to tell if the sheets had actually been changed. Really? The bed is so very important to spending money at a hotel. The other issue was the door lock (deadbolt) did not work. I took a picture of the mattress pad but don't see where to post on this review. Will share when I send a letter to HIE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Serenity Traveler,
Thank you for your comments about the Holiday Inn Express. I want you to know that I personally addressed this issue with the housekeeper who cleaned your room. She apologized for not replacing the torn mattress pad and assured me that she did change your bed linens throughout your stay. We are in the process of preparing for a renovation and as time goes by, unfortunately things do wear. We did inspect your deadbolt and found it working properly. Please note that the dead bolt locks automatically when you close the door. Once you engage the privacy from inside, no one can get in from the outside. We hope that you will choose our hotel for your future stays in the area and are excited to work towards our newly renovated property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the indoor pool and requested a room near the pool. Glad we did because on the second night, our toilet broke and we had to use the restroom in the pool area. We got in around 12:30 am, exhausted from a family party on Christmas Eve. I didn't call about it because I figured that even if they sent someone to fix it, we would have to stay up and wait for a plumber and stay up while he fixed it. In the morning when I asked for a refund for the last night, the clerk fussed at me for not calling, even though I explained the reason why not. They also tried to charge me $10 over the price I booked the room at. She said there was nothing she could do, but at my insistence, she changed the price and gave us half off the room. The beds weren't comfortable, but the pool was great and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The front desk people were very friendly and efficient with the exception of this one person who didn't exactly ruin our experience, but she certainly didn't add to it. Hey lady, it's not MY fault you had to work on Christmas Day!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the side with the Sheetz, KFC and Arby's unless you want that to be your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mom 357,
I would like to express my apologies to you in regards to the issues encountered during your stay with us. I was the clerk who checked you out of the hotel and I am sorry if you felt I was rude. I do recall thinking at first that you had purchased your room through a third party site like Hotwire in which I would not be able to refund you monetarily. I did however offer you Priority Club points as compensation to which you declined. I did understand your frustration with the toilet and being late in the evening, however, the toilet simply needed plunged and that could have been taken care of quickly so that you would not have been inconvenienced. I am glad you enjoyed the indoor pool and breakfast and the other staff members you encountered. We hope that you will choose our hotel and the Holiday Inn Brand for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here on the way home up north. Pleasant hotel featuring large well kept rooms. We selected a non-smoking room with 2 doubles. Plenty of pillows and warm blankets. Room was fairly clean but noticed some "spots" on bed sham. Some noise was coming from the adjacent gas station where trucks were idling and cars were in and out. The walls of the room are pretty thin. We could here the voices of people next door. Not loud enough to discern what they were saying. Not that we wanted to listen-in on the convo. There was also an intermittent rumple coming from the 3rd floor. Seemed mechanical. If you are a light sleeper, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Dennis M.
Thank you for taking time our of your schedule to write a nice review about our hotel. I am glad you found the size of the room accomodating however I am sorry that you found the gas station a disturbance during your visit. It does sometimes get noisy if you are located on that end of the hotel. We certainly hope that you will choose our hotel again is you are in the area and we would be happy to place your room on the west side of the hotel away from the station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is one of the BEST Holiday Inn Express Hotels we have ever stayed in. My Husband and I are truck drivers and stay in MANY hotels, and This Winchester hotel was one of the BEST!! we will always come back to this one. the buffet next door was AMAZING!! the only not perfect thing was the pillows, they were too soft when they should have been firm, but that will NOT sway me from staying here again, GREAT HOTEL,GREAT PEOPLE, and a GREAT STAY!!!! I suggest THIS hotel to anyone who needs a great night sleep!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Katrinal1925,
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you shared about our hotel. We can understand how many hotels you stay in because of your occupation and will accept that great compliment with a smile on our face!
We know you have a busy schedule and are happy that you found time to share you experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for one night in September of 2012. Got there at 8 pm, and left by 7 am the next morning. It was right off of a busy roadway and behind a Sheetz gas station, so it was convenient to everything I needed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jay1974usa,
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave such a nice review about our hotel. We are very conveinent to everything which makes us ideal for the traveler like your self. Easy on and off and close to everything. I do hope that on your next trip you are able to stay a little longer, enjoy our indoor pool and breakfast and visit old town. It is quite the hidden gem.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Address: 142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.