We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean and good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great, clean and good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

As we were leaving our room after a good night stay; housekeeping person said: "have a ggod day.". I can't say I have ever heard a best wishes comment from housekeeping in all of my hotel stays. The hotel room was very spacious and accommodating. We arrived after 9pm and were fortunate to get a wonderful suite for a great rate. We had picked up the coupons on the highway rest area and the front desk honored it. The breakfast was satisfactory and rooms very clean. We wood stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sue B.
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We have a policy in place call the 10 step and 5 step rule. Once a guest is with in 10 steps of you we smile and within 5 steps of you we greet you. I am glad to know that this was something you encountered and found it refreshing. Our staff is very friendly and we take great pride in that.
We hope that you will share your experience with others and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    39
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
54
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. During the fire alarm (apparently caused by a defective solenoid) there was a professional manager on site to reassure guests as firemen pulled up in full regalia. I think the fire alarm itself was confusing because it was a chirping sound. Many did not evacuate probably because they didn't know it was an alarm. There are 2 Holiday Inn's in Winchester and I believe this is the newer of the two. There was no breakfast which seemed chintzy.

Room Tip: Choose one with a fire alarm that sounds like a fire alarm and not like chirping birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hello,
I believe you were referencing the full service Holiday Inn Historic Gateway in regards to this stay. This location is the newer of the two in Winchester however, our hotel (Holiday Inn Express & Suites) does offer free breakfast with your stay.
Please keep us in mind next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Booked this hotel for a one night stay on our way back to NJ. We had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself and our room were extremely clean. The free breakfast included pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs, English muffins, biscuits and gravy in addition to cereal, yogurt and fruit. My husband loved the coffee. Definitely worth the price. When we were leaving, my husband said, "I wouldn't hesitate to stay at another one of these hotels." I fully agree.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Calico696,
Thank you for the wonderful comments you made about our hotel. We take great pride in the service and product we provide and are very happy you were pleased. Since this was your first time in our brand, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
We will look forward to greeting you again if you are ever in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had stayed the night before north of Harrisburg, PA at a HIE and had great experience. In comparing the 2 hotels I found the staff at the HIE in Winchester had a very lackadaisical attitude toward the guests. We were there for 2 nights and each morning I had a cold shower. I reported this to the housekeeping, as well as, the front desk staff. There response was "well no one else mentioned it so I don't think there is a problem." We had reserved 2 rooms, in the other room the light over the bath tub "sizzled", again this was reported and we were told that it would be looked at the next day. It was never fixed. The rooms had very sparse toiletries and I had to go looking for soap. On the morning of the second day we went down to breakfast, in the short time we were gone the rooms had been "cleaned". Evidently this means making the beds, partially and changing the towels. There was a spill on the counter that had not been cleaned. There were open containers from the coffee "set-up" that were still left lying about. The room was not vaccumed and the tub was dirty.

The breakfast was free. However, the pancake maker and the toaster were both broken. They were out of a couple of breakfast items which are standard at Holiday Inns.

The cable tv did not work for about 20 hrs of our stay. When I inquired why they said it was out in the entire county. However, later in the day the Comcast repair trucks were at the hotel to fix "their" problem.

I feel that if the management of this HIE took a more proactive interest in this hotel the problems I experienced would not be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Brandi958,

I was very upset to read your review on our hotel and I am very sorry that you encountered issues with your stay at our hotel. We certainly do not want any customer to have the feeling of dissapointment in choosing a Holiday Inn Express. As much as we never like poor comments, we always appreciate constructive feedback and use it to make us a better hotel.
Please be assured that I have addressed the problems you had during your stay and hope that you will choose us again on your next stay in Winchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We like to stop in Winchester VA on our way from NE Ohio to the Outer Banks every year. We have 3 small children and it's nice to break up the drive for them. Last year we stayed at the other Holiday Inn and it was very nice and new but there was no breakfast and it's much further down in town which messed up our travel for the next day b/c the gps took us on a road that was 35mph for a long time. Also we squeezed all 3 kids into one queen and that didn't go very well...
So this year we decided to make the switch to this one. It's older and the beds are full instead of Queen but we got a suite (2 full size beds and a full size pull-out sofa) so our son (who is a kicker in his sleep) could have his own bed. It worked out perfectly and was about the same price. Everyone was well rested, we got to fill up with a nice breakfast (LOVE the pancake machine!) and we were able to just hop right back on the highway instead of taking that back road all the way down. We were on the 1st floor and right across from the pool which I didn't like b/c I was worried about noise. But it actually wasn't bad though. The pool and hot tub was nice b/c it was pretty much just us for about an hour (a big change from the pool last year). We walked across the parking lot to Arby's for dinner (there's also a KFC) and my husband got gas at the Sheetz (I think) that night which was nice b/c it was all connected in the same parking lot. We will most likely stay at this one next time and I would recommend it to anyone, esp travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such nice comments about our hotel. We take great pride in the service and product we provide and are thrilled you were happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My daughter thought she would surprise me with a visit from Ohio to Winchester. I found out about it and arrainged a last minute stay at this fine facility for her and her family. Jennifer went out of her way to make sure my daughter had a suite and honored our hospital WMC discount since I was the one actually surprising my daughter by paying for it. Thanks Jennifer you are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to acknowledge our great staff. We take pride in the service we provide and were excited to share your nice review.
We hope you will choose our hotel again if you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Visiting family in neighboring Cross Junction this is our second time staying at this property. Check-in was effortless thanks to Priority Club. I had obtained the pre-paid rate for my two night stay and was given the same rate even though I checked in a day early. The staff was helpful and pleasant, the gal maintaining the breakfast area worked her butt off but remained cheerful and courteous. This is the first time I saw the automatic pancake maker. It really made some pretty good pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spunky007, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Saberblue,
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. It means alot that you took the time from your busy schedule to leave such a nice review.
It was our pleasure to take care of you and your family during your stay and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Address: 142 Fox Ridge Lane, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.