We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic downtown Winchester adds a go-to Mexican Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink

El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink
1 North Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA
+1 540-313-4583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 230 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Dessert, Mexican, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink is located in the center of Winchester on the Old Town Walking Mall at 1 N Loudon. From our amazing homemade salsa to our mouthwatering Carnitas, you can taste the freshness and quality in every bite! Our menu is compiled with a variety of appetizers, classic Mexican dishes and delicious desserts. Not to mention, we also offer a great selection of ice cold beer and over 20 margaritas! Come and relax in a comfortable and stylish restaurant or enjoy the nice weather and sit on the patio, either way it will be an honor to serve you!
Aurora, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Historic downtown Winchester adds a go-to Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our weekend in Winchester included a visit to the newly refurbished downtown pedestrian mall. We expected historic buildings, local shops, and good food, but the new El Centro Mexican restaurant was a cut above. They've only been open about a month (the place still has that 'new car' smell) but our experience was exceptional from the get-go. The host stepped outside to welcome us in and seated us at a window booth overlooking the busy walking mall...great for people watching. Our server quickly took our drink order and delivered chips and fabulous house salsa while we looked over the menu. Shortly our pork tacos and seafood enchiladas arrived. The presentation was excellent and we enjoyed the mix of flavors. Portions were generous but not ridiculous. The staff gave us just the right amount of attention. If we lived closer to Winchester, this would absolutely be our go-to place for Mexican food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food, service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Love the location on the downtown Winchester walking mall. They have both inside and outside patio seating. The service was terrific. They were busy, it was prom night plus lots of people on the mall but we didn't have long to wait and had a wonderful server. She was very sweet and attentive. The food was excellent. Everything tasted fresh and was well prepared. We will be back again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Muy Beuno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our food was prepared with the freshest ingredients and served with the most friendly attitude. The cuisine is classic Mexican, which is a pleasant change for Winchester. Glad to have another option for dining on the walking mall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Margaritas & Chimichangas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Best Mexican around...great drink selection...Fantastic service, friendly staff/owners, and very authentic. Delicious--a must stop in WInchester!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Cuisine in the Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the best Mexican Cuisine in the Winchester area. I've patronized these folks for years now and been consistently happy with their meals and drinks. Also, their new location is more comfortable and classier than before.

I especially feel that they are giving great prices for their food and service. Their happy hour deals, their live music, their specials encourage me to keep coming back (as if that were necessary)! I track them on Facebook (El Centro Classic Mexican Food & Drink, Winchester, VA) to see all of their deals and upcoming events.

Oh, and my kid sometimes licks his plate clean at El Centro. It's that tasty.

Even more exciting, I found out that they will very soon have outdoor seating. I can't wait to be able to kick back and sip a margarita and watch the world go by on the Winchester Mall!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink also viewed

 

Been to El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.