We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic downtown Winchester adds a go-to Mexican Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink

El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink
1 North Loudoun Street, Winchester, VA
+1 540-313-4583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 259 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink is located in the center of Winchester on the Old Town Walking Mall at 1 N Loudon. From our amazing homemade salsa to our mouthwatering Carnitas, you can taste the freshness and quality in every bite! Our menu is compiled with a variety of appetizers, classic Mexican dishes and delicious desserts. Not to mention, we also offer a great selection of ice cold beer and over 20 margaritas! Come and relax in a comfortable and stylish restaurant or enjoy the nice weather and sit on the patio, either way it will be an honor to serve you!
Aurora, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic downtown Winchester adds a go-to Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our weekend in Winchester included a visit to the newly refurbished downtown pedestrian mall. We expected historic buildings, local shops, and good food, but the new El Centro Mexican restaurant was a cut above. They've only been open about a month (the place still has that 'new car' smell) but our experience was exceptional from the get-go. The host stepped outside to welcome us in and seated us at a window booth overlooking the busy walking mall...great for people watching. Our server quickly took our drink order and delivered chips and fabulous house salsa while we looked over the menu. Shortly our pork tacos and seafood enchiladas arrived. The presentation was excellent and we enjoyed the mix of flavors. Portions were generous but not ridiculous. The staff gave us just the right amount of attention. If we lived closer to Winchester, this would absolutely be our go-to place for Mexican food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stephens City
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Love the location on the downtown Winchester walking mall. They have both inside and outside patio seating. The service was terrific. They were busy, it was prom night plus lots of people on the mall but we didn't have long to wait and had a wonderful server. She was very sweet and attentive. The food was excellent. Everything tasted fresh and was well prepared. We will be back again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Muy Beuno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our food was prepared with the freshest ingredients and served with the most friendly attitude. The cuisine is classic Mexican, which is a pleasant change for Winchester. Glad to have another option for dining on the walking mall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2fromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Margaritas & Chimichangas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Best Mexican around...great drink selection...Fantastic service, friendly staff/owners, and very authentic. Delicious--a must stop in WInchester!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bekka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Cuisine in the Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the best Mexican Cuisine in the Winchester area. I've patronized these folks for years now and been consistently happy with their meals and drinks. Also, their new location is more comfortable and classier than before.

I especially feel that they are giving great prices for their food and service. Their happy hour deals, their live music, their specials encourage me to keep coming back (as if that were necessary)! I track them on Facebook (El Centro Classic Mexican Food & Drink, Winchester, VA) to see all of their deals and upcoming events.

Oh, and my kid sometimes licks his plate clean at El Centro. It's that tasty.

Even more exciting, I found out that they will very soon have outdoor seating. I can't wait to be able to kick back and sip a margarita and watch the world go by on the Winchester Mall!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink also viewed

 

Been to El Centro Classic Mexican Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing