We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for a great lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnie Blue

Bonnie Blue
334 W Boscawen Street, Winchester, VA 22601
540-686-7490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 230 Restaurants in Winchester
Restaurant details
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for a great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stopped by in-transit to Lexington, VA.and were impressed by the food and fun feel. Give it a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
1 review
“Great Barbque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Delicious brisket, pulled pork and chicken.
We don't live near here but if we are ever in Winchester again we will stop for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ORDER SCREW UP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The order was not properly filled. Side dishes were not done. Mac & cheese was SCORCHED so badly we couldn't eat it. Reception for 30 people ruined. Will never trust an out of state caterer again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I found this unique restaurant after checking TA for a nearby place to eat breakfast after leaving my Doctor's office, which is across the street. What a wonderful find...it was like stepping back to the 1940s or even 30s in entering a Southern Barbecue that looks like it was formerly a gas station. But I had nothing to fear as the staff made me feel welcome and had helpful suggestions in introducing me to the routine. The grits and sausage gravy were delicious and coffee strong, instead of the bland stuff you usually get. Most people sit at the common table, where they brought my food, and I met a couple of interesting people. Nothing fancy and all was served in styrofoam. I look forward to trying the more extensive lunch or dinner menu next time and regret not indulging in their home baked pastries or bread.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“It's cute, but........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Cute little restaurant in the center of town. We picked up takeout and were disappointed. First takeout is sold by the pint. We ordered two meats and two sides, along with dessert. Two packed bags were handed out. When we arrived home, we were quite disappointed to see that pints were not full. Mac n Cheese was just a couple of spoon fulls loosely packed. Prices here are not on the cheap side of BBQ so this was quite a let down. If you want to sell by the pound, do so. But if you are selling by the container, we expect that container to be full. Greens were underdone. BBQ is just OK. Dessert bars priced at $3.95 per 2x3.5" squares were OK, but again, pricey for what you got. Might be a different experience if you eat in, but we were just not blown away on the take out. For $36.00 without any drinks - this was a let down.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnie Blue also viewed

 

Been to Bonnie Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnie Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.