We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnie Blue

Bonnie Blue
334 W Boscawen Street, Winchester, VA 22601
540-686-7490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 219 Restaurants in Winchester
Restaurant details
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Tasty Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I just happened upon this great little bakery when zipping around Winchester on my day off. A whiff of the smoke caught my attention. The staff was attentive, the food delicious and the bakery case is going to bring me back again. I didn't really like the coleslaw but others might. The pulled pork was tender and flavorful and the half ear of corn on the cob...very tasty. The Lemon Creme that I polished it off with was delicious.

The decor is very nice, with interesting things to buy at every turn. Local foods, and fresh bakes goods make this a great place for locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Southern BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our daughter recommended this relatively new place in Winchester, so my wife and I went there for lunch. The place has a great "small country store" atmosphere, super-friendly service, and limited seating. A great break from the chain restaurants. Their specialty is smoked BBQ and home-made baked goods. The smoked 1/2 chicken platter came with two sides We had collards and French fries), and was enough for the two of us. It was so good we returned for lunch the following day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quite a find seek it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Saw this place ony way to southern states across the street. Saw some signs for bbq, chicken livers and daily specjals and was ciripus. While i waited fpr my seed across the street o saw a lot of yraffic and looked up the sole review here. Saw ot and decided to grab lunch before heading bacl to leesburg.
Intetesting place. Atmosphere of an old country store witn lots of smiling faces (both custs and staff). Decided on pulled pork platter with 2 sides and took a seat at one of only a few in this tiny place. Lots of other good stuff i saw onenus, specials and othetrs lates. While eating. This place is awesome good with great food. I will be back whenever i get out this way. The pulled pork eas smoky, delicious and piled high on a roll that was freshly baked and great body..i dpubled up on collard greens for sides and was glad i did. Tons of smoky pork and pelpery smoky flavor.
You wont leave hungry or be dissappointed here!! A small out of the wag hole in the wall wo.t survive u.less they have great food amd valie. They do. Seek it out and enjoy. I may have to drive tbe 40 miles from leesburg just to eat if i have to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“You know you're south of the Mason Dixon line when...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

You can get great greens, BBQ and baked goods at (what looks like) the corner store. Bonnie Blue is a recent addition to the Winchester food scene, and a welcome one, with high quality baked goods, BBQ straight off their own smokers and some other things you can't get around here, like chicken livers and good smoked brisket. My wife and I had the oysters and the chicken livers on our first trip, with mac and cheese and standout smoky greens. The breading is light on the livers and oysters, with just enough snap, plus a dipping sauce if you want it. We took a loaf of bread home, a dense, flavorful country white. Oh, and they have Cheerwine (it;s a southern thing - somewhere between cherry cola, DR Pepper and a Nehi).

Next trip, the croissants (another item you can't get in Winchester - not real croissants, anyway and the brisket. I talked with one of he owner for a while, got a look at their smokers (maple and applewood fired when I was there), and learned that their chef was the original owner/chef at the local One Block West. They have crammed quite a kitchen into the tiny space and the prices for their meal are very good (under $10 for a platter of chicken livers, mac and cheese and greens, a couple bucks more for the oyster platter).

The retail/store side has local and regional products (e.g. Shawnee Springs canned goods, Rte 11 chips, and a lot more) and some southern specialties. These aren't necessarily bargains, but they are nice to have available in one place. Oh, and there's a coffee shop in house, as well.

There are only a few stools and a bar to eat at, at lest for now, so most business is carry out, but sitting at the bar lets you watch the smoker at work.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnie Blue also viewed

 

Been to Bonnie Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnie Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.