We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in the Valley for Trail Rides & Lessons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wagon Wheel Ranch

The Wagon Wheel Ranch
5522 Cedar Creek Grade, Winchester, VA 22602
+1 540-868-9427
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our ranch offers spectacular scenery, experienced guides, and a riding experience you'll want to repeat. It's like a slice of good ol' fashioned western hospitality. Ride through our herd of cattle or explore all that nature has to offer on our ranch, from foxes and bald eagles to wild turkeys and herds of deer. The Wagon Wheel Ranch is family owned and operated, which is why we have placed it into a Conservation Easement guaranteeing there will never be any houses built or other development taking place on the property. We ride 7 days a week, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Stephens City
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best Place in the Valley for Trail Rides & Lessons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My daughter gets lessons here weekly and recently went on a trail ride with friends. This is a beautiful, working ranch run by experienced ranchers. The cowgirl in charge, Sam, is a rodeo winning barrel racer in addition to running the ranch and she more than knows her way around horses.

She will put you at ease and entertain you with stories about the history of the ranch and the area. She places riders on horses appropriate for their experience levels. Her ranch hands Anthony & Amy are experienced and friendly. This is not the typical nose to tail trail ride you get at some ranches along a worn out path. This is through the field and woods and sometimes even through the creek. The horses are beautiful, very healthy and well cared for and you see that kind of care all over the ranch. You will want to bring your camera for the amazing views you will get at this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We will be back!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We took our kids (9, 12, 15) for their first horseback riding experience. What a treat!!! The people here are amazing! Anthony and Amy were our guides. Sam assisted in getting us set up for the trail ride. The kids were given basic directions and off we went for a 1 1/2 hour trail ride. Our 15 year old struggled a bit to get his horse to respond. Anthony used is horse to push our son's horse to get it to respond until our son gained the confidence to do it independently. Both Amy and Anthony gave us bits of information about the horses, trail, and surrounding areas. They were great with the kids and definitely knew a lot about horses, stables, and the expectations of the ranch.
The trail ride was very nice because we could ride as we wished (side by side, single file, at our own pace). Kid wore helmets as it is a requirement. It was optional to wear helmets for the adults.
After the ride we were welcomed back to the stable and the staff assisted us to dismount the horses. Lemonade was waiting for us at the picnic table and we got to sign the guest book. Once we got into the car and were driving away, the kids were already planning a return trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience - Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing ride on well cared for horses this is the place to be. We had a wonderful time last week on one of the hottest days in early July. We were running a few minutes late and called ahead to let them know and they waited for us. I was a bit nervous as I have only ridden once before over 15 years ago. But Sam the owner is a wonderful cowgirl. She put everyone in the group at ease and assigned horses based on experience.

The ranch is absolutely gorgeous. Sam explained the history of the ranch and the artifacts found from the Civil War. She provided good commentary and stories as we meandered the ranch.

The 15 year old with us had to wear a brain box (helmet) and it was optional for adults.

I would definitely recommend a trip to the ranch. When the ride was completed, they provided cold lemonade and we were able to sign the book.

Definitely would go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My friends and I had a fantastic horseback riding experience. Sam and Anthony were great guides!!! The 90 minute ride through the countryside was beautiful. The horses were easy to ride. I rode a great horse made Mud. It was nice to ride by side by side, inside of forming a single line. I thank Sam for taking some great pictures. The lemonade at the end of the ride was perfect!!!

Driving into the Ranch, please make sure you drive the speed limit that is posted.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was my first time riding and it couldn't have been more perfect. We had great weather and Sam and Anthony were great guides. It is obvious that Sam takes pride in what she does and takes very good care of her horses. Thanks for a great afternoon for me and my sisters. The lemonade at the end was a perfect refresher.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandyg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wagon Wheel Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The Wagon Wheel Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing