We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Facility and great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagon Wheel Ranch

Wagon Wheel Ranch
5522 Cedar Creek Grade, Winchester, VA
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 4 activities in Winchester
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful Facility and great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A perfect fall day, we were thrilled to meet Sam Snead who owns and operates Wagon Wheel Ranch (along with her husband who manages the cattle side of the business). This is a top notch operation. She had the horses already saddled before we arrived and carefully thought out which one of her 19 horses to give each of us. The horses are all well trained and top quality (a lot better than the Montana facility we used this summer). The big difference in even a basic trail ride is that you get to ride not just go nose to tail. The ranch is beautiful country. We saw brand new calves as well as a bald eagle. Sam's assistants Anthony and Elizabeth made the ride well worth while (there were 8 of us). Afterwards, Sam serves lemonade and cookies. $45 for 90 minutes per rider is well worth it. We will definately be going back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best activity ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wagon Wheel Ranch in Winchester VA is a gorgeous, meticulously maintained ranch where visitors can go on long trail rides. The Owner Sam, is fun and gracious and makes the experience amazing. We went for my 9 year old's birthday this year and had a great time--Next time we might take the longer trail (there is one that is 2 hours) it was so much fun-- riding experience helpful but not necessary. The horses where calm and easy to ride. We will be returning for sure!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A wonderful ranch, terrific people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My daughter and stepmom had a wonderful time at this ranch today. They took the Basic Trail Ride and it was a terrific day with terrific hosts. The trail leader took photos of them on the trail, and the push-button ponies were exactly what my family needed. We will definitely return and make this a fun event for when friends/family visit and for whenever the kids want to get on a horse for a while. Thank you so much!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great Shenandoah area trail riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a surprise to come on this strong horse riding facility near Winchester Va. Of the various trail riding opportunities we have sought within a 1 to 1 1/2 hour radius of Washington DC, this is one of the best. Sam, the owner and great rodeo rider, customized our ride over the hills and through streams to get us ready for a one-week of intermediate riding in Canada. The second time Gracie, her protege varied our experience, trotting and cantering on excellent horses--well trained and responsive.

Sam (a woman, by the way) runs a cattle farm and trains horses western-style for regular riding and rodeos. She can tailor a ride from rank novices to experienced riders, as responsive to clients needs as her horses are to the riders. There's a large indoor arena for lessons and extensive property for trail rides.

My only complaint is we can't move the facility closer to us and DC. But the facility is well situated for Shenandoah Valley touring, with several interesting sites close by. We'll be going back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wagon Wheel Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagon Wheel Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.